its not billy’s boot camp!!!!

there is this thing they do here, radio exercises, broadcast on national radio at 630 in the morning…..the kids in the summer are encouraged to go to the local park and participate… they get rewards for attendance, like notebooks and pencils and stuff and gift certificates to spend at the store……. many of the kids go and several “older” people come along too. This year for the very first time I have gone every day!!!! (but I am the only one that brings coffee along…..)  The exercise routine itself is simple… and in fact has remained unchanged since it originally began (decades ago) and everyone over about 7 can do it from memory and with their brain half off…… I, being old and slow have to watch someone else and still don’t get it right all the time.  It is also mindnumbingly silly and isnt really a very good work out…….. its designed for anyone, from like 3-100 years old…..

the part that bothers me most is that I do it everyday, feeling silly and ridiculous and thinking of how it could be changed to be so much more effective and exciting and something that people would do with enthusiasm and vim and vigor!!!!!!!

 and thats why I am different… not the red hair or the green eyes or the sturdy norwegian body………I am different because I think about how great everyday events would be if I could just change them.  My brain gears are constantly turning and churning and coming up with great ideas that I do so wish I could inflict  enlighten share with people.  Like what if we could rechoreograph this tired dull routine and make it more lively and invigorating……

and therein lies the rub.  I can’t and I won’t and I shouldn’t because all those people doing the same old excercise routine in the park day in day out year after year probably find comfort in the familiarity.

and that is why I am a gaijin.  I wonder where my brother is………….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jolene
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 03:36:45

    I hope he’s not in Mexico.

    Reply

  2. Brother
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 03:56:41

    How do I enter something other than a comment? Still nice here in Surabaya. Will try a long run tomorrow (Saturday) getting ready for our scheduled half marathon in England on 30 September.
    Hope everyone is well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

