the tragic end of boat mail from the states.

some of you might not know that I have an addiction.  A rather harmless addiction… and in fact one which I saw no end to and could not imagine giving up.  Until…. until those rotten ratfink folks at the USPS decided to end all international surface mail.   You see, I had this fabulous book store  bookmarked and checked it out every day.  I checked it every day to see what new books had been added… each book that looked interesting and likely to improve my lot in life I added to my shopping cart.  When the shopping cart had about 20 books, I would hit SEND and sit back and wait 8 weeks for the box of wonder to arrive.  I have on my bookshelves some absolutely fabulous knitting books, quilting books, cook books, travel books and so many others that I was able to buy CHEAPLY and also at really reasonable shipping costs.

 until, those yellow belly sapsuckers at the USPS decided to cancel boat mail.  Those killjoys.  Not only me… but every other person in every other country will no longer get that box of stuff from the family at christmas….. and charity groups, and booksellers and exporters and church groups and every one else has to suffer the slings and arrows of first class postage or do without.

There is a petition circulating on the internet for people to sign to bring back surface mail. I think that the way things are going in america now there isnt a chance in HADES for a change to occur.  or rather for a change to UN-occur.

well, I have one thing and only one thing to say to those folks down at the USPS…

may the fleas of a thousand camels infest your armpits.

Leave a Reply

