Changi Quilts

http://www.awm.gov.au/encyclopedia/quilt/history.htm

this is a link that will tell you about the Changi quilts….. I have ordered for myself from Amazon japan, 3 books…..

one is called Positively Postcards… and I am hoping for amazing amounts of ideas and inspiration about making quilted postcards.

another is the new one by the yarn harlot……… “Casts off” by stephanie pearl mcphee….. I read her blog daily and love reading her books………

and finally,  Diary of a girl in Changi………written by a girl in Changi prison during WWII.

Since the ground sucking bottom fish at the USPS don’t send boat mail anymore I can’t order any cheap books from Daedalus, so  I have to get my book buying kicks less often and more expensive.

ah well.  such is life.

I still wonder where my brother is.

here is a link which should allow you to see   a picture of the quilt……http://www.quiltingandpatchwork.com/2007/08/15/quilting-in-a-japanese-prison/

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Miss Behaving
    Sep 30, 2007 @ 03:42:08

    Very interesting,I am looking forward to reading it too!

    I really wanted to see a pic of the quilts, I can’t post a link here but there is an article about Sheila Allen ( I think, I have forgotten already LOL), and a photo of one of the quilts at “Verbatim”.

    Reply

  2. jude
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 21:57:14

    Reply

  3. jude
    Oct 02, 2007 @ 21:58:54

    Reply

  4. whereishenow
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 03:24:58

    thanks jude!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

