Moon when salmon return to earth.

    Welcome,friend swimmer,we have met again

in good health.

Welcome, Supernatural One, you, Long-Life-Maker,

for you come to set me right again

as is always done by you.

–from a kwakiutl prayer said when a jumping salmon is seen.  translated from the kwkiutl

the lunar cycle known as the Moon When Salmon Return to Earth in the traditional  calendar of the Saanich people comes in early autumn, when there is a chill in the air……….. from the book FULL MOON FEAST by Jessica Prentice

It seems to be a month we can celebrate fish!!!!  From huge halibut to the small spiny sea urchin to colorful fabric fish hanging from a stick…….

 

画像 713

 

I have been cranking out the fish to send to a friend…. some for her and some to sell…… we shall see……..I like the way they all look together.  Then, I separated them into little groups to hang.

 

画像 716

 

BEST FISHES

 

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 00:17:28

    terrific, i am really enjoying your aesthetic and your blog

    Reply

  2. Grandpa H
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 00:41:14

    grandma H says good pictures and such nice colorful fish,I like them all. I just would like to know how you got one of the fish pictures for our background picture in our computer? It is a large picture of all four fish wall hangings or what ever you call them. Very interesting. I do like it, just interesting.

    Reply

  3. Acey
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 14:57:41

    Very cool fish. They look like they vibrate a lot of energy in person (jumped over from Jude’s blog)

    Reply

  4. Miss Behaving
    Oct 23, 2007 @ 10:37:15

    They look fab on the table, my very own ones which you made for me, look great in my house and are admired by all who visit.
    I just love that table that you use for the photos.

    Reply

  5. whereishenow
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 00:15:00

    thank you jude, Acey and Miss Behaving for visiting and for your comments. I am really pleased with how the fish look and the colors.

    Grandma H… I am going to have to call you because I just don’t get what you are trying to say. Keep those comments coming, though!!!!!!

    Reply

  6. ohime
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 17:14:23

    Colour always wins!
    They’re very nice, and so is the poem – I like the idea of being set right by a salmon.
    Another job well done!

    Reply

  7. Ravenhill
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 11:55:52

    I love these little fish! Makes me want to get out my husband’s fishing pole!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

