QUILTING QUANDRY

oh dear…… the quilt top has been basted and the quilting has begun…. the back is a soft piece of purple sewn to a soft piece of yellow…. the blocks, which are roughly 12 inches by 10 inches are being quilted around the edges/borders with a variegated thread in purples and greens and yellows…… but… and herein lies the quandry.. the red strips… about 6 inches at the wide points and maybe 4 inches at the narrow….. WHAT SHOULD I DO???…. the possibilities are endless…  from red quiet quilting to riotous massive quilting.. to sashiko , to plain white lines, to foot prints, to fish prints , to stippling….

WWYD???????????

画像 767

so, in the midst of decision, I knit……..

some glove love….. with some tweaks….

画像 764

and if glove love doesn’t do it for you, how about some brotherly love……..

画像 763

don’t they look sweet??? like they never -ever….. fight……..

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 11:48:57

    I just love your quilts! Looks like you almost need a bigger sofa!!
    It’s interesting how “Brother #1” has changed, subtle changes, but still…It looks like he and your “Nephew #1” are working on the same smile!!

    Reply

  2. jude
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 15:59:33

    i would do some wavy lines in heavier thread, sashiko style but in many colors. but that is just me and just me today. tomorrow who knows?

    Reply

  3. tiktiki
    Nov 21, 2007 @ 00:36:23

    write a poem or put in random thoughts???

    Reply

  4. Miss Behaving
    Nov 22, 2007 @ 23:46:41

    I would finish the gloves, someone somewhere needs that glove love NOW! 😉

    Reply

  5. tiktiki
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 00:55:15

    hey, i get the feeling this isn’t about glove love at all. i think this is more about whereishenow’s inner quilt guilt…
    signed,
    your blog therapist

    Reply

  6. whereishenow
    Nov 24, 2007 @ 01:11:37

    inner quilt guilt????? no. I don’t think so. I just tend to dwell on one point and not get my brain off the constant ever present concentration. For example.. on the moon quilt, I have been puzzling what to embroider on the hunting moon…. and now that I have decided…with help from a phone conversation yesterday…. I am poring over books and looking for help with the design…. and to Jude, yes, I think I will just start in the center with variegated sashiko thread and make lines going out…I want to quilt the border in all red…. because I don’t really like the bright colors I chose and should have stuck with red…
    so, dear blog therapist…thank you. and tikitiki, the poems and random thoughts will be on the moon quilt and the kolaidoscope quilt will be wordless.

    and the gloves are progressing.

    when oh when am I going to get those damn little stockings started?????

    love. to all. now back to the hunt for a hunter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

