Happy Thanksgiving!!!!!!

oops.  I forgot to hang up my turkey this year.

(by the way, I made the turkey, from felt and the feathers are REAL….. from a cheapo package of colorfully dyed feathers from some poor bird).

this is an old photo, I probably took it 2 years ago…so Kai is probably about 4….. he is 6 now but still looks about the same!!!! In fact he is still wearing that great shirt (typical english for japanese shirts) but it is getting kind of small.

and, I am blogging this thanksgiving post late.

it wasn’t thanksgiving in Japan, but it was a three day weekend…which tends to throw me off kilter..what with all those extra people around.

so, late post that this is, I still want to wish all of my faithful readers (like all 5!!!) , to a rich fall/winter season full of treasures and love, peace and magic……….

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

画像 114

 

now, I am worried that my father might feel like chopped liver for not being included in a previous post…..so I would like to take this opportunity now , in list form, to thank my dad for all that he has done in raising us three kids and for helping to create the person that I am now…..

  1. at all times he expected the very best from me.

  2. taught me through example and words that no job is worth doing if not done well.

  3. impressed upon me to take good care of your tools and to put them away when you are done.

  4. trusted me, at a very young age, to ride solo on snow machines and motorcycles…

  5. taught me to shoot a gun.  and to respect that gun.

  6. he loves my mom.  and he respects her. they are a great team….from them I learned that true love is possible and not just fantasy.

  7. I very very rarely saw him lose his patience, even with 3 kids …he kept calm….and also kept order….and discipline….HOW DID HE DO THAT???

  8. he took a pile of lumber and a bottle of glue and a roll of canvas and some clamps and built an amazing airplane….. that really really flew…… HE BUILT AN AIRPLANE. and HE FLEW IT.  he followed his heart and his dream and lived aviation all his life.

  9. he should have a tatoo on his chest…DON’T LET THE BASTARDS GET YOU DOWN.

and finally, when I disappoint him and let him down, he still loves me.  and he has pointed out to me so many times….. TO THINE OWN SELF BE TRUE.

ok.  that should do it.  there is so much more to my dad (and my mom too)  if I can do only half as well as they are doing…. and if I can raise my kids following their example, then, I am doing well.

 

BECAUSE I FLY.

 

I laugh more than other men

I look up and see more than they,

I know how the clouds feel,

what it’s like to have the blue in my lap,

to look down on birds.

To feel freedom in a thing called a stick….

Who but I can slice between God’s billowed legs,

and feel the laugh and crash of his step.

Who else has seen the unlimbed peaks?

The rainbows secret?

The real reason birds sing?

Because I fly, I envy no man on earth.

–anonymous–

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Grandpa H
    Nov 26, 2007 @ 04:14:00

    Magee-
    When I get praise like that-Wow. Perhaps chopped liver ain’t so bad after all.Great poem.Yes, I have lots of memories.Flying, and you on skies,sno-mobiles,motorcycles, and other stuff. All good memories.—Its sad. The guy who bought Yellowbird never flew it. Tied it up in an open hangar, and there it sits, really deteriorating and sad looking.A shame. Love, Grampa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

