BLOOD MOON

—from the book FULL MOON FEAST….by Jessica prentice—–

blood moon

 

Those animals which I use for riding and loading,

Which have been killed for me,

All those whose meat I have taken,

May they attain the state of Buddhahood very soon!

–Ladakhi prayer, translated from the Ladakhi

 

the blood moon has passed, but I have been stitching it… it is on my mind….the season when enough meat for the long winter season has been preserved and put away to last until spring.

画像 773

hunter moon and hunter

 

here is my hunter, he is out ready to stock up his freezer with a winter supply of……………

画像 774

CARROTS!!!!

come on!!!!  you know I’m a vegetarian and must give thanks to mother earth and her bounty of VEGETABLES!!!!!!!!!

 

progress on the moon quilt (formerly known as the ugly quilt)….. today I am stitching a snowflake to celebrate the snow moon…….

the amount of pleasure I get from just sitting and stitching is beyond measure……and making a quilt for myself and sharing the moon stories with my kids is amazing…..they are following along with me on the progress and with creative ideas…… and I hope to involve them with some of the stitching…..

 

small update on the kids……

Kayla and Kai both passed their end of the month swimming tests.

Kazu’s christmas card he made was chosen (2 from his class) to go on display in some  department store gallery….. I can’t wait to see it!!!

Kayla and Kazu both passed their english proficiency tests and will continue working on improving their reading and comprehension skills to take the next level.

Kazu passed his karate test and is wearing a yellow belt now.

I am going into the city today for the city wide concert of 4th grade bands…. Kayla’s class is playing the theme song from RAIDER’S OF THE LOST ARK……Kayla is playing the organ…..

Yuki will be gone 3 days in Tokyo to attend some sort of convention that his school is sending him to attend…… so at home we’ll be enjoying simple dinners and lots of pizza!!!! 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiktiki
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 00:02:20

    your hunter is fabulous…out shooting carrots, eh?
    maybe he’ll round up some greens too. right now the veggies available here are very nice, a huge variety and it makes eating a better experience altogether. slim pickin’s in the summer months.

    Reply

  2. Miss Behaving
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 05:55:42

    The Moon quilt is looking good.
    Congratulations on your kids’ achievements.Or I should say congratulations to your kids on their achievements.
    I hope if you have time,you’ll pop along to the swimming class and take a few pix of them in the water, actually swimming with the coach if possible.

    Reply

  3. jude
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 21:24:29

    hey, wonderful moon and wonderful post. i like the carrots too!

    Reply

  4. jacadamia
    Nov 29, 2007 @ 14:55:39

    The kids are doing so well. Great!

    Did you see the blog vegetableJapan on blogger? It’s a nice vegetarian in Kagawa ?

    That moon is awesome. I am fond of archers being a Sagittarius.

    Reply

  5. Sjh
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 23:25:58

    I’m so happy to see someone else making a moon quilt! Mine took years before I finally felt I had it right, but it hangs above my bed and I love it. I made it before I discovered Full Moon Feast – and now I feel like I should make another one. Keep up the work on your quilt – it’s going to be lovely!

    Reply

  6. Lauren
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 06:58:43

    I absoulutely love the moon quilt.

    I also love the update on your kiddos. They all seem o be happy, healthy, and all around great kids.

    Reply

Leave a comment