got the christmas tree up.

3 smiley kids put the tree together, I put on the lights and then they put the ornaments on.  It sure has gotten easier now that they are older and can do it all by themselves.

画像 797

there they are!!!! the tree skirt my mom made. and in the background to the right, you can see some brush calligraphy that Kazu did. Just to the left of the tree is a felt christmas tree with 25 hooks for counting down to christmas…. the far left is the computer area…….and there are a few little stockings I have knit hanging in the front window……..

And now for a quilting update…….

画像 804

I am quilting the red part with a multi -colored sashiko thread and using a multicolored thread to go around all the blocks.  I hadn’t made any lines to follow, but the sashiko stitching is ending up being straight lines……

today and tomorrow then school is finished and the kids will be around until January 8.  Uff Da.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grandpa H
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 01:28:58

    Hi: I got typing so fast that I lost the first note so hope this one is going through. Good picture of the kids and Kayla is wearing her hair longer and I like it that way. Father and I are going to try and put more decorations on our tree tomorrow, or when ever. Right now we only have the lights on but he wants balls and I don’t, I like the good glass decorations. We shall see. This afternoon we pealed l0 pounds of potatoes, guess what we are going to make tomorrow? Be a big day but once we start, want to finish it up. Good picture. Love, grandma H.

    Reply

  2. jacadamia
    Dec 21, 2007 @ 14:50:15

    Love that tree! and your quilt is excellent too. I love your tree quilt. I need one of those. This year our tiny tree is perfect with the two little stockings you knitted for me a couple of years ago. We have pipe cleaner candy canes poking out of them.

    Your kids are looking TALL this year.

    Merry Christmas

    Reply

  3. WAcousin
    Dec 22, 2007 @ 14:57:01

    Wow!! What are you feeding those kids? They’ve grown so much since I saw them last. I like the sashiko stitching on the red quilt. You have such patience with your hand quilting.

    Merry Christmas

    Reply

  4. dbee
    Dec 23, 2007 @ 01:40:39

    Hey…just perusing the blogs…love the pics of the kids…the third one on your “flickr” roll on the right is “nengajo-worthy”!! Amazing how Boy#1 is looking more and more like Dad!! Good-looking kids!!!**Here’s to a sane and crisis-free winter holiday!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

