winter vacation is over.

YEEHAW.  the kids go back to school today.

the fine young son thought that the vacation was  a bit short while I feel that it felt

ETERNIOUS

I don’t believe that you will find it in any dictionary, but if you have kids, you might be able to understand the word completely.  I am sure that you can define it without a doubt and use it with confidence.  ETERNIOUS.  adj. ongoing and unending.

In other news, I was able to pull this hilarious comic from one of the funny e-mails that people like to forward around the internet world.  In  a perfect world I guess……

無題

 

and still yet in other news, I start my day with a coffee pot that is new and makes just a bit more than the old one did….. and with insulation (a concept totally ignored in housebuilding in this neighborhood anyway) keeps the coffee hot while I sip on it throughout the day.  Simple pleasures…….

画像 851

Isn’t it beautiful?????????

And finally….. the middle child…. the slightly pre-hormonal child…..has turned 10.  She is 10 now.  10.  She wanted clothes for her birthday.  I had to guide her just a bit in her selection……..I had to say NO NO HELL NO to the short shorts to be worn with tights and YES YES HELL YES to the jeans with the suspenders, which are worn down for fashion purposes…..the rebel years are starting to begin……..

happy birthday little one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

画像 855

The birthday girl.  The cake maker. The cake.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dbee
    Jan 07, 2008 @ 23:02:51

    Good morning!! CanNOT believe that I didn’t check out the new java maker the other night….next time I’ll come earlier in the day and we can drink some of that, and not that other stuff!!! 😀
    Please, send over the pic of me and the birthday girl…that one’s a keeper!!
    Enjoy the silence of the day!!

    Reply

  2. tiktiki
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 00:34:52

    happy birthday!

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 04:55:52

    As I wrote to you over on Flickr I can not believe that it was 10 years ago that Debbie and I visited you in the hospital! I remember you could touch you toes unlike pregnant Debbie and I.

    Happy Birthday!!!

    Reply

  4. domesticshorthair
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 06:10:57

    Love that recycling bin!

    Reply

  5. Ravenhill
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 17:20:59

    Congratulations Jan on your beautiful daughter’s birthday! That must be you in the photo with her, aka the cake maker? What a lovely warm smile, full of love. Nice to see a photo of you!

    Reply

  6. whereishenow
    Jan 09, 2008 @ 21:41:30

    thanks all for the birthday wishes…. but I must reply to ravenhill and tell her that it’s not me in the picture. The maker of the cake is commenter number 1… and she also has a ten year old…we were both pregnant at the same time and her son has a birthday next month.

    Ravenhill….. I will find a photo with me in it and get it up somewhere.

    Reply

  7. jude
    Jan 10, 2008 @ 18:47:40

    the rebel years….i miss them…..enjoy!

    Reply

  8. Grandpa H
    Jan 10, 2008 @ 19:30:50

    Grandma H. Very good picture of the l0 year old, such a pretty girl, and a very nice looking cake. Was that her choice? Rain and wind here again and I am listening to a book on tape and cleaning up and putting away this morning. Grandfather out with the boys for coffee but due home any time. Lots of love to all , me/.

    Reply

  9. jclyburn
    Jan 12, 2008 @ 19:19:25

    Happy belated birthday to Kayla. 10 years old! How did that happen? Looks like you had great cake and coffee!

    Reply

  10. ohime
    Jan 13, 2008 @ 14:29:49

    Happy Belated Birthday to your pretty little girl, what a nice smile she has!
    Lovely birthday cake dbee!

    Your second baby came right after New Year’s? Busy time of year for you (but you always seem to be full of activity, so when DO you have time?)

    Nice blog, I really enjoy checking in.
    Happy New Year, ohime xox.

    Reply

  11. anitrakat
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 17:03:52

    I would say that “eternious” is a great word to describe the kids’ Christmas vacation this school year! It was long for us as well, with most of the vacation time coming after Christmas.

    It looks like Kayla had a good birthday. Anitra just turned 10 on the 25th and so we begin the journey into “pre-teenhood”. I think it’s beginning much earlier these days than it did with us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

