it’s not the destination…….

while caressing searching through my yarn stash for one more little bit of red to finish my raspberry beret I came upon a blanket that I started Y-E-A-R-S ago…… with some linen I had inherited, and I can live with the colors…. I just wasn’t enjoying the knitting on several dpns all lined up ….so I put it away……  as I pulled it out this time, I remembered that my mother had sent me a long set of circulars, probably about the right size and I would switch to circulars and get going on it.  So, I did……

thanks mom for finding these things and also for sending them to me.

blanket in progress

画像 999

back to my mother, she mentioned some applique she was doing and not turning under the edges….. I guess we can call it lazy applique… and that conversation turned on a little lightbulb in my brain and I went upstairs to the futon closet (where I store all my fabric and works in progress) and dug out a quilt top I had finished Y-E-A-R-S ago with denim hearts and stars lazy appliqued all around……  so I rushed it down stairs with a nice fuzzy pink sheet…. hung out the futons in the sun (no room in the closet) and laid out that quilt for basting. (I baste my quilts on the floor….I can pin the edges directly to the tatami mat flooring….)

画像 1000

here it is being modelled by the couch –basted and ready to go!!!!!

so the question of the day…. (week, month, year)….is.

Which takes longer………sewing a blanket or knitting a blanket?????

which reminds me of something Gandhi said……

“there is more to life than increasing its speed…”

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grandpa H
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 03:06:57

    Greetings from grandma H. I like that quilt. I see you did your hearts and stars by hand, good idea. I did mine on the sewing machine and stitched them on with different stitches, trying out different things on my machine. I thought about by hand but changed my mind. Would have been a good idea for the quilting but wise people always change their minds, so I say.
    Hope Kai s hand is better, let us know. Love to all,

    Reply

  2. whereishenow
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 03:54:07

    hi grandma H. (mom…) of course I hand sewed on those hearts and stars….. I hand sew everything!!!

    and if you look off on the right hand side, very top picture, you will see a shot of Kai’s hand after most of the healing……. there is a layer of all new skin and it is still looking a bit ragged…but he went to the pool yesterday and is back to “normal”.

    Reply

  3. Jolene
    Mar 01, 2008 @ 17:35:24

    I LOVE that Gahdhi quote. And I’m glad Kai’s hand is getting better.

    Reply

  4. jude
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 00:05:50

    WELL THANK YOU A MILLION TIMES FOR THAT. what are we doing anyway? ( the question that comes to mind every day.) you are so cool.

    Reply

  5. tiktiki
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 11:45:13

    i know that…but i am guilty of not always following that wisdom…

    Reply

  6. Grandpa H
    Mar 08, 2008 @ 01:19:27

    This is Grandpa H.
    Have you seen the one showing all the old beautiful p-51
    Mustangs? Now, that is somthing to write about. By the way,
    I sent an E-mail to my oldest grandson in Japan today. I
    think of him in younger days (1-6 yrs old) as the
    Tasmanian Devil. Boy, could he turn my crank.

    Anyway, to all you quilters and fabric artistists out there,
    CHARGE.
    GRAMPA

    Reply

  7. Ravenhill
    Mar 10, 2008 @ 12:04:25

    I really love the colors of the blanket. I also enjoy seeing your works in progress! Happy spring to you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

