off to school

12 year old starts jr high school

7 year old home sick first 2 days of school

10 year old is pretty much same as usual

can’t seem to post pictures

Milk prices in Japan are rising, and I can’t even find butter at my local grocery store.Β  It seems that crops are being used for biofuel instead of food for cows and there isn’t excess for making butter. I guess in addition to planting tomatoes and basil in my garden, I should buy a cow.

Milk Moon

My speckled heifer will give me her milk,

and her female calf before her.

Ho my heifer! heifer! heifer!

Ho my heifer! kindly, calm,

My heifer gentle, gentle, beloved,

Thou art the love of thy mother.

–from a Gaelic Milking Song, translated from the gaelic.

—from Full Moon Feast, by Jessica Prentice.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbie
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 13:48:27

    Hey…I went to your Flickr pictures and saw the ones of #1 son on his way to school….dare I say that I don’t see how you watched that ’cause seeing the pictures got me choked up. Having known him, literally, since he was born, this was really emotional…knowing that The Girl and my #1 are not far behind. Me thinks we need a day to “drink and reflect” soon!!
    Hope #2 son is feeling better!!**I might have room in back yard for cow is space is an issue!!! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  2. jude
    Apr 10, 2008 @ 14:29:22

    too bad they don’t have miniature cows.

    Reply

  3. Grandpa H
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 01:24:22

    This is kindof a response to Debbie. The # 1 son you mention is the self same grandson of mine who I did refer to as the
    ‘Tasmanian Devil’. i don’t suppose he remembers how he used to torment me(Oh, the stories I could tell) when he was only about two or three years old. And older. However, while my memories are still sharp, (ha) I think he is one fine grandson.
    One of three. A proud Grandpa.

    Reply

  4. Ravenhill
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 17:40:39

    Shall I send you some butter? πŸ™‚
    ~Emily xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

