yah. two posts in one day.

 

well, there’s this gap so I will add some text. the above picture shows the stitching in circles that were so much fun. It’s just a nice lazy walking stitch ever expanding….and it’s symbolic for me because i think that all of life is circular and it all just keeps coming back around on itself.

you can quote me on that.  “Life is a circle. ”

 

 

 

 

here is the one i finished this winter and i really love the colors.  i look at it now and i see a few spots i would have done differently so i’ll know that next time!!!!!!

the one on top, i finished a year or two (or three) ago.  I think i was just playing around with sewing jean legs together and also a bunch of my kids old pants they had worn out…. the quilting is circular. I started in the center and just kept working my way out and around and around…..i made it before I had even heard about the quilts of Gee’s Bend and I think it looks quite GEE’s BEND like. 

I got the book “THE QUILTS OF GEE’S BEND” and I started looking through the pictures and reading the stories of the women and I got all choked up….the quilts are so organic  and primal.  They speak to me because they are so simple, so unassuming and so very very practical.  I believe that the essence of piecework and quilting is to create warmth and beauty from scraps, leftovers and worn out stuff.

creating something  from nothing.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laney
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 09:17:54

    WOW!…They are both wonderful, but the denim especially sings to me! 😉 thank you so much for sharing these, with the whole view and the detail…I LOVE that circle…holy cow that was a lot of work to do my hand. It is no small feat to quilt denim by hand. They are both SO Gee’s Bend. Really really beautiful. On the denim quilt, did you use the same weight fabric throughout or are some pieces a thinner weight fabric? You have opened up a door for me…..I may be starting to sell these denim quilts and to be able to add other fabrics would be nice…for some reason I felt like I still needed to follow that rule about using all like weight fabrics for my denim quilts…but why? Jude mixes all the time, why not with denim?? Thanks, Jan!

    Reply

  2. whereishenow
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 09:54:28

    thanks laney for your enthusiasm. I had no idea that there was a rule regarding material weight. that quilt is a variety of weights from thin and gauzy to thick and jean-y. Once you put a backing on it and quilt it, i don’t think it really matters.

    I don’t find denim really any more difficult to quilt than anything else….but… i don’t always wear a thimble and during the winter (my heavy quilting months) I walk around with a permanently callused, bloody, beat up middle finger. I only quilt by hand and as long as i don’t have a deadline i just keep plugging along until it is done. enjoying the process every step of the way.

    Reply

  3. jude
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 13:17:35

    …..or something from everything!

    Reply

  4. Steph
    Apr 27, 2008 @ 16:28:44

    and CARING enough to make the ordinary ‘nothing’ into something of beauty and functional utilization.

    Reply

  5. tiktiki
    Apr 30, 2008 @ 01:06:12

    gorgeous pair of quilts! the denim is very fine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

