flea market finds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

oh yeah.  happy days are here again!!!!  flea markets are popping up with the spring time blossoms!

I found  a few nice pieces of material for future quilts and a moth eaten wool kimono…….beautiful colors and funny how they all work well together.

There is a blue jacket of very heavy weave, probably a KENDO dogi. There is a ladies cotton shirt with dragon flies… too small for me, but good for my daughter….if she will wear it.  The “mexican” shirt is too good to be true, I mean…..SERAPE!!!! CACTUS!!!! SOMBRERO!!!! and HORSES!!!! and COVERED WAGONS!!!  what more could you want!!! and AND it fits me!!!  and AND it has a nubby texture and I am wondering if it is BARK CLOTH which I have just recently learned about over at http://laneyloo.wordpress.com/2008/04/30/progress/   

click on that link and go see what is happening at serenewhimsy  with totebags and baby quilts……

today is rainy so I am missing a big flea market (which is cancelled) but there should be another one tomorrow and I am hoping for some more treasures!!!!!!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laneyloo
    May 05, 2008 @ 11:25:26

    Hi Jan,

    Cool! The mexican shirt is awesome, it does look like barkcloth, the colors, print and nubbiness all fit the style. Looks like it was a very fun fleamarket. If I ever make it to Japan, will you take me?
    Thanks for the very nice mention of my blog. I needed a little boost today, thank you!
    Wouldn’t you like to know the history of that “mexican” shirt?
    if objects could only talk.
    I like hearing what you had invisioned when wondering what barkcloth was. I remember being entranced by birch trees….I hadn’t ever seen them growing up in California….and then add all those scampering squirrels….cool trees.
    Have a great week!

    Reply

  2. jude
    May 05, 2008 @ 17:46:03

    who….that jacket is delicious. is it indigo?

    Reply

  3. jclyburn
    May 05, 2008 @ 20:22:56

    Jan, that Mexican shirt looks just like you! I can see you wearing it.

    Reply

  4. Grandpa H
    May 07, 2008 @ 00:08:35

    Hi Jan: I like your flea market finds, I am not going to any right now, Els big garage sale is comming up on the l6th and l7 and people are invited in on the l5th for a look and buy. I am going out tomorrow to help, ha, price things so I will get a good look. Was out to her house on Thursday and came home with three boxes of quilting books to go to the friends of the library and l2 or so boxes of NEW MATERIAL to take to where ever. Maybe you will get a chance to look at it this summer if you come home. It is in the shop so I am not going to worry about where and when it will go to a good use. love to all. Grandma H/

    Reply

  5. tiktiki
    May 07, 2008 @ 01:09:05

    nice post. flea markets have not come here yet. people are only just starting to hoard here. i am all over that cactus shirt….SCORE! and as jude mentions, love the short kimono. wonder what you will make with it all. and i look forward to seeing it.

    Reply

  6. Ravenhill
    May 08, 2008 @ 20:58:52

    Beautiful finds! I wish you more at the next one! I was gone to the US on vacation when the biggest flea market weekends were happening. I am rather bummed about that… It gives me more time to sewing though since I don’t have to be going to fleamarkets!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

