Japan is a safety country…. *mild profanity warning*

safety first

better safe than sorry

you could poke your eye out.

Sunday morning was grass clearing at the Jr. High School for the all school sports day next sunday.  It’s a big day for students and families and the fields needed clearing for parking.

and HOLY SHIT if they didn’t have men with WHIRLING BLADES OF STEEL working in the fields while women and children cleared up the grass….. with one damn rake and a whole bunch of hand held sickles. Two fields, maybe an acre or 2…. all these damn people and about 10 men walking around with not those fishing line weed whackers…but WHIRLING BLADES OF STEEL.  Not one pair of safety goggles, no safety guards on the damn blades, a field full of tall grass and ROCKS. And not one person thought to , oh I dunno, cut one field first, then send in the women and children to clean up…. HELL NO…. we all worked together…. me thinking the whole damn time that rocks would just be flying poking EVERY eye out.  Or someone walking into a WHIRLING BLADE OF STEEL. Two hours later both fields looked great.  No one had gotten hurt and we were each given a cold drink for our trouble.

Uff da.

oh look.  I got some new plates.  They are antique and I have been wanting some like this FOREVER! My neighbor lady knows that I have been coveting plates like this and each time I nearly purchased some at flea markets that we attend together, she would say… “Oh I will just give you some of mine” and FINALLY FINALLY SHE DID!!!!!!!!  They are from her husband’s side of the family and she gave me 5!!! and I love love love them.  I don’t have anywhere to store them so I just keep them on the table and we use them for dinner.

Oh and I bought some KASURI antique yukata cotton at yet another flea market.  A set of 5 pieces, about 11 x 7 inches….and I could get 4 sets for about 10 dollars.  It is such fabulous stuff that I will probably do nothing with it for a while and just be happy holding it and looking at each piece until I find something *worthy* to make.  I have several great Japanese quilting books and magazines and I will look through them for inspiration. 

 

Last but not least, a belated HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY to all the mother’s.  I want to thank mine for supporting me and for passing on the fiber love gene…the one that is fed with frequent garage saling and the purchase of blouses made of cool material, the cutting out and stitching together of squares and triangles and general pleasure from fondling cloth that is soft.

I love you mom.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tigermama
    May 13, 2008 @ 06:01:41

    I LOVE those plates. They are GORGEOUS! I want them!!!

    Reply

  2. tik tiki
    May 14, 2008 @ 00:00:22

    i don’t get a “heads up” that you have posted anymore because you are not uploading to flickr…always love to see what you are up to. unfortunately, i am doing more fondling and cherishing than stitching lately (of the soft cloth, i mean). you brighten our daze!

    Reply

  3. WAcousin
    May 14, 2008 @ 00:58:47

    Your flea markets have much better stuff than ours. It’s been very rainy this Spring, so no garage sales yet. I’m glad to hear that you’re using your beautiful plates. Such a shame to put nice things away.

    Reply

  4. Midori
    May 14, 2008 @ 12:07:11

    You have a blog!! I didn’t realise and only found it by checking out your FWC profile. I am very excited as I am going to sit back and spend some time catching up with you!! LOL! Howz life?

    Reply

  5. Ravenhill
    May 14, 2008 @ 12:27:42

    What lovely flea market finds! The plates are so beautiful! I love the blues you are collecting.
    XXOO
    Emily

    Reply

  6. jude
    May 16, 2008 @ 01:03:28

    those fabrics are heaven. on earth even!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

