muddy olympics

I don’t think even SHOUT will get this mud out….

 

 

 

 

the kids at school were conditioning the rice fields for planting.

first they build up the sides with mud so that the water will stay in.  After the work is done, it’s time for some races!!!!!!!

     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even though none of my kids qualified for the all school relay race for sports day next week…

they were able to run across a muddy field and be the first to get the ball!!!!!!

Way to dig in and get dirty!!!!!!!!

*******************

Oh hey… I forgot to show you some blouses I got last week… one fits to wear and one is too small…. perhaps some day I will cut it up and put it into a quilt……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

******************

—in a constant search for balance and serenity in my life, I collect (and sometimes read) Buddhist books.  I have a new one, by PEMA CHODRON, called WHEN THINGS FALL APART……. Right now, I don’t think I am falling apart, but just in case, you know… I want to be ready… anyway, I will leave you with this thought……

THE PATH IS THE GOAL

If there’s any possibility for enlightenment, it’s right now,

not at some future time.

Now is the time.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    May 16, 2008 @ 01:01:52

    first off, dirty kids are healthy kids. i moved out of new york city and started commuting just so my son would know what dirt is. the fabrics are wonderful and i have that book. i gave it to my mom when my father was dyeing. gimme an address.

    Reply

  2. whereishenow
    May 16, 2008 @ 01:57:18

    jude, i totally agree with you on dirty kids. I am really pleased that planting rice is part of the school curriculum. Every year I volunteer to be part of the team that helps the kids through the process…. from the separating of the good rice for seed all the way to the harvesting and finally eating…

    thanks for your comments!!!!

    Reply

  3. debbie
    May 16, 2008 @ 16:12:19

    Oh my gosh…that looks like such a good time!! I didn’t realize the “mud play” was all a part of the process!!!
    Without hot water to wash in, yeah, I’m thinking those clothes are not coming clean too easily!!!
    Did the moms join in too, or just supervise?!?! 😀

    Reply

  4. tik tiki
    May 17, 2008 @ 02:54:41

    i’ve got the book too. many nuggets in there, eh?
    love the mud, as you know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

