random thoughts brought to you in list form.

10 very random thoughts to share with you all.

  1. reservations have been made.  deposit has been paid.  we will fly to the us in august.
  2. this blog will be one year old in august and there will be give-aways.  I will bring japanese stuff to the states to mail out, and when i return to japan i will mail out american stuff.
  3. the fuel surcharge,(for flight to america) times 4 tickets, is more than my dad paid for my first car.  more also than(my dad paid for) braces on my teeth.  way way more than my wedding band. curiously LESS than I paid for a new kayak…..
  4. yesterday we drove to Fukuoka to renew one child passport.  gas and highway tolls cost more than the passport renewal fee.
  5. Both parents and child must appear in person because of a crack down on international kidnapping…we used to be able to renew by mail…..
  6. Since I will be in Washington during fair time I have decided to finish up a quilt to hang at the fair.  Must get stitching….
  7. This friday we bring the rice seedlings down to the flooded rice field, walk among the tadpoles and lizards and plant rice!!!!
  8. I and my kids are looking forward to crustos at TACO TIME,  milk shakes and hot dogs, AND root beer.
  9. I have not yet officially informed my mom and dad that we are coming… i will phone them after I post this on the blog.
  10. I will be celebrating my 45th birthday in august and plan on having a terribly rich and decadent cake, large amounts of pizza,  some fabulous washingston state wine and YOU ARE ALL INVITED TO JOIN ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. illahee
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 03:34:45

    i so wish i could be there!!!! early happy birthday, if i don’t remember in august….

    Reply

  2. whereishenow
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 03:38:36

    thank you sweetie. you are the first to say it!!!! but not to worry, i’ll be blogging from “the other side” and I will share all the decadent details.

    Reply

  3. tigermama
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 03:44:01

    Fantastic!

    Although, I`m really bummed that we won`t be there this year (the first time in four!).

    Have a great time and a fabulous birthday!

    TM.

    Reply

  4. debbie
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 13:05:30

    We are going to Fukuoka on Thursday…by train to save some yen, to get the boys’ passports. We should have carpooled…then could justify a Hard Rock stop…but will go have some nachos and a Corona anyway!! Glad you got your tickets…still waiting here…not 100% yet…Will think of you and drink a toast to your b-day, as usual!!

    Reply

  5. WAcousin
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 14:20:13

    Can’t wait to see you and kids in August. Your Mom said she will hold on to those 18 boxes of fabric until we’ve had a chance to go through them!!!! Hope you get your quilt done in time for the fair. I see another Blue Ribbon in your future…..

    Reply

  6. whereishenow
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 07:36:54

    tigermama… would it be wrong for me to wish for an escalation in violence so you would be in WA this summer…eating fabulous cake!!!!!

    debbie… carpooling would have ben great..but we did not stop anywhere. we drove by hard rock…. i saw a subway sandwich shop… there were ZERO pit stops. there and back in 5 hours.

    WAcousin… you are so lucky that luggage weights and size have been decreased and I won’t be able to carry ALL that fabric back with me…. although there might have to be some arm wrassling….and we have my sister to worry about, too.

    Reply

  7. WAcousin
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 13:26:06

    Well…..since the last thing I need is more fabric, I doubt there will be much “arm wrassling”, but it sure sounds like fun going through all those boxes. How about bringing throw-away clothes — take back fabric. That’s what I would do. See you soon.

    Reply

  8. ditoh
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 14:17:21

    It is going to be awesome! Have some beers and tacos for me please.

    Reply

  9. jude
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 17:27:58

    oh my, party time!

    Reply

  10. Ravenhill
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 07:56:36

    so happy for you and your family that you will be making the trip to the US to visit! Do you start to wonder how long we’ll be able to afford this now with the ever increasing price of fuel?

    Reply

  11. Susan Lenz
    Jun 06, 2008 @ 19:46:57

    Hi!
    I found you and your wonderful blog from stitchin fingers. Your August trip sounds fabulous…Happy Birthday and everything. The way in which you’ve compared prices and spending in this post is great…nostalgic to thought provoking with an excellent sense of humor mixed in.

    Now, let me introduce myself. My name is Susan Lenz. I’m a fiber artist living and working in Columbia, South Carolina who is mounting an exhibition called CYBER FYBER at Gallery 80808/Vista Studios next January 8 – 20. The show will include traded fiber postcards and ATCs. So far, I’ve traded with stitchers in 26 countries and 38 states. I’m working on another trade with a stitcher in Japan, but I’d like to make sure at least one goes through….so, please consider trading!

    CYBER FYBER has a “site” which is actually a series of interconnected blogs. The main “page is: http://cyberfyberexhibition.blogspot.com. There are links in the upper right corner to the available postcards and ATCs. Trading is easy. Should you decide to trade, just leave a comment on the card you want. Then, send a private email message to me at cyberfyber@prodigy.net with your mailing address. I’ll mail the trade right away and edit the entry for the card to reflect our trade and with a link to both your stitchin fingers page and to this nice blog.

    If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to write! Thanks for any consideration at all.
    Susan
    Oh, my “personal” blog for my own fiber work is at http://artbysusanlenz.blogspot.com
    Thanks!

    Reply

  12. Miss Behaving
    Jun 08, 2008 @ 07:35:50

    I can get your blog!! Woohoo.
    It all sounds great. Hope you have a fab trip, fab birthday, fab fair.

    Reply

  13. laneyloo
    Jun 09, 2008 @ 01:19:22

    so cool to be getting to go home. I’m sure it doesn’t happen often enough. It’s been 3 years since I’ve visited California..it’s really funny the things you miss. Your mention of Taco Time, made me remember what I call, the silver bullet taco mobile….SOOOOOO good! You will have such an awesome time. Yummy food and family near by, what more could you want.

    Reply

  14. cathie
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 11:15:49

    Jan have a wonderful and “safe” trip here to the US. August is a bit warm –but you will enjoy it. How cool you are brining a quilt to exhibit here while visiting. Be sure to visit lots of quilt shops if you have the chance. Throw away your clothes if you have to — in order to fit “fabric” and “notions” into your suitcase!!! I so look forward to your report when you return home.

    Oh, and happy birthday — my birthday is in August too!!! Are you a leo????

    Cathie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

