duct tape and hunks of wood.

The only reason we have a dryer is because 12 years ago, some guy moved back to the states and gave us his washer and dryer.  The washer died a long time ago, but for some reason we hung on to the dryer…. for rainy season…..which was a stupid decision because now the burden of recycling is on the consumer and when we do get rid of it, the fee will be about 50 buck-a-roos.

So, the cheap-o crap-o machine that it is, the door…..which stopped latching about 14 years ago…actually broke off it’s hinges…so in addition to tape on the latch side, there is also tape on the hinge side…. if the door isn’t closed properly, the whole thing stops….so I stuck a stick between it and the wall and I have to remember to DUCK when I walk into the room.

Most of the time it doesn’t even matter because I have 5 long laundry poles, 3 nice hanging racks and a covered deck for all my (environmentally friendly) drying needs…but the forecast for the next seven days is rain, rain and even more rain…. I always laugh when Japan is referred to as a “high technology country”.  That might be true regarding computers and stuff, but when it comes to “women’s work” it’s like living in a little house on the prairie!!  I could probably use a busy baker oven to dry my clothes better than this worthless piece of modern technology!!!!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbie
    Jun 15, 2008 @ 08:40:53

    I’m sorry, but I’m chuckling here…only because…it’s just so sad. At least you have something that will even attempt to dry stuff….I hung up shirts out in the space outside my room and turned on two fans to dry them. With rain forcasted for the next week, I’m going to work in a trip to the ‘coin laundry’ to do some drying!! ~~sigh~~My kingdom for an American sized washer/dryer set…that works!!! Warm, dry thoughts….deb.

    Reply

  2. kelly-marie
    Jun 19, 2008 @ 11:53:40

    oh i hear ya jan!
    i have finally decided there will be NO MORE cleaning the floor with a rag. i am buying a mop! (Lili is toilet training, so there is a lot more floor cleaning lately).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

