been stitchin’ and stuff

 yah. I had so much fun making that other bag that I have started another.  It’s all just garter stitch so it knits up quite easily.  Something to take my mind off of all the mindful stuff and just hang out in the mindless for awhile. I am making it a bit smaller than the other one, and plan on lining it with the old worn out kimono that is light and pretty.

 

 

 

so, i have been thinking on what to do with the white squares on the quilt.  The sashiko runs through the printed squares, and I have already gone around the white squares with simple pink stitching.  I decided to do a few pink swirly flowers…. then I counted the white squares… 90 of them…I don’t know if I will do them all or just the outside ones.  For fun, i did some little doodles….. i guess I will just keep filling in as the quilt spreaks to me .  At this point I think it is really underembellished…  however the humidity has hit and I don’t know how long I will continue to be inspired to play with it.

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Jun 17, 2008 @ 23:35:32

    oh god, humidity can really hit, boy how that rings a bell…..

    Reply

  2. Ravenhill
    Jun 18, 2008 @ 16:27:21

    It is funny how the humidity really knocks you out!

    Jan, you asked what is hot in the US in fabrics. Well, I am not really so in the know… I usually buy what strikes my fancy. Right now I am lusting after the new Heather Bailey line which should be out in July. http://heatherbailey.typepad.com/

    I am really excited about Japanese fabrics these days, like Daibawo and Lecien…

    Hope that you won’t have too much humiday so that you might get a chance to work on the beautiful quilt you have in progress!!!
    ~Emily xxx

    Reply

  3. Midori
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 08:18:08

    Love the quilts as always. Was thinking about you yesterday as I saw a hand-made quilt on sale here for £450 (so like 10 man yen). The ones I have seen pictures of that you have made look WAY better than the one on sale here. Might be time to start a “jan in nagasaki” export business! You could make a killing!

    Reply

  4. whereishenow
    Jun 24, 2008 @ 08:25:40

    thanks so much midori for your enthusiasm.

    honestly, I don’t think that I will ever sell any quilts. I would find it difficult to part with a quilt for money (even for 10 man yen) but find it extremely satisfying to give it someone “worthy”

    it’s all about the love, baby!!!!!!

    although, if anyone has any offers on quilts i have made, and they could put 10 man yen to good use, then……whatever….

    (10 man yen means 100,000 yen…roughly 1000 dollars)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

