the fair quilt

…talking to my sister on the phone the other day, she asked what I have been up to lately. 

“QUILTING MY BUTT OFF”

the quilting conditions are optimum right now…. dark rainy days, a bit cool and time on my hands while all three kids are at school.  and speaking of butts….. they do fall asleep….. and need a chance to stretch and flow…. as in “get off your butt and DO something”…..but, progress is being made, and I do believe that the quilt will be completed in time to hang at the fair.  Whew.swirls and waves on the front. 

swirls and waves on the back

 

 

 

 

 

 

oh yes, we are looking good and feeling alright.

some flowers

finally…. the tickets for flights to the U.S. have been paid for in full and we will be there in a month.  I am working out some details (in my head) regarding some give-aways.  I am going to go through my stuff, post some photos and see what happens.  WAIT FOR IT!!! and watch this spot for details!!!!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiktiki
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 04:05:19

    gorgeous work, girlie.
    take time to flex your butt, okay.

    i see blue ribbons in your future. it is coming together beautifully

    Reply

  2. debbie
    Jul 01, 2008 @ 15:06:05

    yeah…i agree…this is “blue ribbon”-worthy!! your stitches are so nice….you, have come a long way baby!! (not that your earlier ones weren’t good, but this one is just…..great!!!) It looks like we have “rain” in the forcast so you’ll have some more good weather to finish!!!

    Reply

  3. tiktiki
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 00:36:15

    how do you get the waves and other designs to be so perfect? do you have stencils? i love the one that is interwoven, especially.

    Reply

  4. laneyloo
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 03:37:20

    wow, this really looks good. I need some of that stitching patience you have. So excited for you all to go home and be with family. It was so nice to spend time with my family and feel so completely at home. A month will go by quickly. How long do you get to stay? It will be nice to be spoiled by your family….and to share that prettty quilt of yours.

    Reply

  5. Ravenhill
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 11:45:42

    Jan!
    Your work today is so beautiful. Such beautiful stitching! Maybe you could use a timer so that you could get up and move around every so often?

    Guess what??????? !!!!!! YES!!!! Your 4 kilos of wonderfullness has arrived all the way from Japan!!!! That must have been a slow boat! It was in customs here for a week. My husband checked it out. Oh, my goooooooonesssssss! You have sent me a delightful box of the most wonderful textile treasures! I love it! You have spoiled me to no end. It was such a huge thrill to open it up – which I did with the children. Sebastian was impressed by the foreign tape! Children notice the most amazing things. He loves tape so he is now hoping to travel to foreign places to discover other wonderful strong tapes! (Sorry, for the digression, I am still a bit giddy from the excitement of opening the package!)

    I was so hoping for one or two of your beautiful hand made fish and you were so sweet to send me four!!! Jan! They are so beautiful! I just love how you have them on a little branch from a Japanese tree! This is so special to me!

    Did you also make the blue and white placemats? They are so pretty and I will be so happy to use them!

    I was thrilled with the pile of fabric, from the adorable babushka scraps to the gorgeous peach flowered silk panel and all the other ones in between. You have listen to each of my likes and found something!

    How fun that you sent me sashiko threads and fabric!!!!

    I love the 100 10×10 cm fabric squares!!!

    I could go on and on…. I will do a post very soon!

    I don’t know more than you about Japanese crafts, just different things!

    I forgot to tell you, the long embroidered piece from me is supposed to hang from a dowel in the ktichen, the back hangs down below the front, that is why there is embroidery on both ends/sides.

    Did I say thank you in all that gushing? THANK YOU!!! I am so moved by your thoughtfulness.

    Love, Emily xoxo

    Reply

  6. whereishenow
    Jul 02, 2008 @ 12:52:00

    oh my gosh Emily. I am sooooooooooooooo relieved that your box arrived and hope that you enjoy everything in it.

    I had just about given it up as gone and felt so sad that you would never get to use the stuff.

    yay. yay. yay……… the unfinished purple and red jacket (SILK!) is from my neighbor. and I bought the babushka bag from a friend, her web address is on the tag….. and in the future, I can send your son some tape…..the peach panel is one length cut from a roll of kimono cloth….

    yay yay yay yay and heavy heavy sigh of relief!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  7. cathie
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 00:19:09

    What wonderful little uniform stitches you make! Oh I try so hard to do that – I am learning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

