kimono giveaway, with a catch.

ok.  I am going to go out on a limb here and see what happens.  The superbloggers with tons of readers have successfully raised lots and lots of support for various causes and I thought that I myself would give it a try …. on a smaller scale.

My friend, who is moving, sent me a couple of kimonos, among other things and I thought that I would give them away.  I  know that there is great potential and awesome generosity in the crafting world, so I am going to give this a whirl.

ANNOUNCING THE SUMMER 2008 KIMONO AND OTHER STUFF RAFFLE.

THE RULES.

1. choose your favorite charity or worthy cause

2. make a donation directly  to that charity. For  every 5 dollars that you donate, I will give you one chance at the kimono give-away.

3. send me an e-mail informing me of the amount that you have donated, put KIMONO RAFFLE in your subject line………. janimagee AT yahoo DOT com 

4. leave a comment on this post naming the organization you have donated to, mentioning the amount is optional.

5. I will mail the kimono package to a U.S. address, any  others countries may contact me for special consideration.

That’s it.  I have listed 3 organizations in my blogroll that I have experience with, but you are not limited to those….. there are several research and aid organizations to choose from…. your choice. (for example….breast cancer, aids, Gilda’s ovarian cancer, ronald macdonald house.. IT’S ALL GOOD!)

If there is minimal interest,  one winner will be chosen….. (winners choice of kimono) if lots of people  respond,  two winners will be chosen.   I will be going through my things to sweeten the pot and add to the kimono packages.

I will draw the winner(s) while I am on vacation, on my birthday , in August.

e-mail me with your donations and leave me a comment.  honor system… I trust you all!!!!

mens wool kimono

mens wool kimono

 

mens wool kimono

 

 

 

short silk kimono jacket.  BLACK.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ditoh
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 05:30:43

    That sounds like a great idea. I just want to mention that the black one isn`t showing up well in the photo. It is really gorgeous and would make a beautiful blouse or handbag. The blue/white one would be great to cut up-it is really cool material. The fabric is not heavy.

    I`d also like to add that I`m a big fan of Ronald McDonald house!

    Reply

  2. whereishenow
    Jul 08, 2008 @ 05:57:39

    thank you Darlene, yes, the black on is really really beautiful.. and the pattern on the sleeves is shimmery and brilliant and the black is shiny and coal dark.

    the wool kimono is very lightweight, and would make excellent material for something….and I also think it would look just fabulous hanging on a wall!!!

    thank you for sharing such fabulous kimonos with me to pass along!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Midori
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 15:40:38

    Every month I have a direct debit donation that goes to the Great Ormond St Children`s Hospital for 5pounds (so 1100 yen) does that mean I get to play or do I need to donate more somewhere else?! 😉

    Reply

  4. jude
    Jul 09, 2008 @ 20:31:46

    oh good grief, let me think. wow, what a great idea!

    Reply

  5. Ravenhill
    Jul 10, 2008 @ 13:45:51

    Jan, this is such a wonderful idea! We give but I won’t enter now as I have already been so darned fortunate to get kimono and many other goodies from you. Now it is someone else’s turn! I just wanted to let you know how sweet I think you are.
    ~Emily

    Reply

  6. All Rileyed Up
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 04:34:19

    Great idea! I’ll get back to you once I make a donation!

    Reply

  7. Joanna
    Jul 11, 2008 @ 12:10:07

    I have made my donation to Macmillan cancer nusres who must be angles for all the work they do. http://www.macmillan.org.uk/?gclid=CM_F0ITmt5QCFQcUQgodNETTTg

    Reply

  8. LeeAnn
    Jul 16, 2008 @ 15:53:03

    You are so generous to offer up all these wonderful items! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Reply

  9. rlbates
    Jul 19, 2008 @ 01:30:29

    These are beautiful! I donated to Alex’s Lemonaid Stand (for pediatric brain cancer research).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

