shiver me timbers…

with thanks to Bette Midler, this song sums it up pretty good right now…

We’ll, I’m leaving my family
I’m leaving all my freinds
My body’s at home, but my heart’s in the wind
And the clouds are like headlines
Upon a new frontpage sky
My tears are saltwater, the moon’s full and high

And I know Joe Comrad
Would be proud of me
Many before me ‘been called by the say:
‘To be up in the crow’s nest,
Singing my sayin’:
Shiver me timbers, let’s all sail away’

And the fog’s lifting, the sand’s shifting
I’m drifting on out
Old captain Ahab’s got nothing on me
Swallow me, don’t follow me
I’m travelling alone
The water’s my daughter
I’ll skip like a stone

And the fog’s lifting, the sand’s shifting
I’m drifting on out
Old captain Ahab’s got nothing on me
Swallow me, don’t follow me
I’m travelling alone
The water, she is my daughter
I’ll skip like a stone

Won’t you please call my family?
Tell ’em not to cry
My goodbyes are written by the moon in the sky
Say, nobody knows me
I got no reason to stay..
Shiver me timbers..
I’m sailing.. Away..

La la la la la la
la la la la
La la la la la la la
La la-ah la

In other news, will send off 4 packages today…one to each wind… gifts to the North, South, East and the West…one eachΒ for Tess and Jenna (thank you for your patience). I will be sending the fair quilt off to my sister…. so that she can cuddle up in a red ribbon quilt when the cold winter winds blow through. and one to the east…….

3 days left with my parents and then thursday we fly home… 3 planes till we see daddy!!! Yesterday we spent a fabulous day with my cousin and 2 days ago we said good bye to my sister and her family.Β  We are all weary from sad goodbyes with one more to go. I will update again from Japan. I hope that you all enjoyed the full moon… from the pacific northwest is was beautiful!!!!!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ohime
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 14:49:26

    It is beautiful there.
    Enjoy your last few days and have a safe journey back home.
    Saltwater tears, yes.

    Reply

  2. debbie
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 09:20:40

    Have a safe and trouble-free trip home!!
    Congratulations on that red ribbon!!!
    And now…i’m going to dig out my Better Midler CD ’cause I’ve got that song in my head….better just listen to the whole album!!
    Happy Trails!!!

    Reply

  3. tigermama
    Aug 19, 2008 @ 17:12:36

    Wow, that was fast! 😦
    Will we see you there next summer???
    I hope the trip home is enjoyable!

    Reply

  4. Miss Behaving
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 00:16:03

    LOVE the Bette, going to dig my tape out too.
    Hope you have an easy trip back. I for one can’t wait to speak to you.
    we missed you.

    Reply

  5. tiktiki
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 02:09:53

    nice post!
    safe travels!

    Reply

  6. Tess
    Aug 20, 2008 @ 16:26:12

    OMG What a surprise I received when I went to check the mail today! Completely forgot about the contest until the box arrived. Jan, I know you are on a plane somewhere today and will get this later when home. In the words of my Ojibwa ancestors, “Chii Miigwetch”. A sincere and heartfelt thank you.

    I’m a touchy feely with the textiles and your package was a sensory overload of texture and color. πŸ™‚ And the magazines are sooo cool! I didn’t know they read from the back to the front? Or what we would call the back anyway. LOL And some great ideas in them. Good thing there are lots of pictures. Now off to research exactly what we have here.

    May you be blessed with joy and sunshine in your travels homeward. Know you are loved.

    Tess
    Teach Only Love
    Be Only Love

    Reply

  7. jude
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 17:07:35

    time flies

    Reply

Leave a Reply

