let’s talk about quilts.

well, I can’t play the jet lag card anymore.  Jet lag is done but I have been feeling kind of pokey lately. I can’t blame that on the heat because it has been cooler than it should be….the humidity has been tolerable and the breezes that blow have brought cool air. 

We took a family day and went to the beach on sunday.  All three kids are officially snorkellers now. Kazu has been snorkelling for years and Kai for the first time did some sightseeing in the sea. There’s a nice sandy stretch with lots of stingrays to swim through to get out to a jetty and see some coral, bright blue fish, sea urchins and lots of fish.  It’s a great way to recharge my batteries….

AND NOW FOR SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT!

wacousin quilt

wacousin quilt

 

mom quilt

mom quilt

grandma quilt

grandma quilt

red ribbon quilt

red ribbon quilt

I have mentioned before that I come from a long line of quilters.  I think my mom has a quilt back to her grandmother.  My sister has stitched, my mom stitches, I stitch, and my cousin that I met for the first time 2 years ago and reconnected with this time is a stitcher.  It’s an honor and a blessing to be surrounded by other textile lovers.  While spending the day with my cousin, I learned several things about her that didn’t surprise me at all because they reminded me so much of myself (and my mother). It seems to be in our DNA.  I am happy to report that while attending two knitting get togethers with me my daughter got started on knitting a coaster.  She’s doing great and I have high hopes for her future in stitching……

All 3 kids went back to school on Monday for a half day and all day today.  I am spending the day pulling stuff out of the closet in the living room and sorting out all my projects and moving forward with them and not starting anything new….Later I will share photos of the suitcase full of material and treasures that I brought back from my trip.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WAcousin
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 00:37:58

    Glad to see your post. Was beginning to worry.

    Your posting of Grandma’s quilt prompted me to get out the “tulip” quilt I have of hers. It’s very similar, except the leaf appliques are shaped differently, the tulips are purples and pinks, and the blocks are set so that the center creates a medallion effect. The blocks are machine pieced, but the rest is sewn by hand. If my math is correct, I think she made these at least 55 years ago.

    Now that the kids are back in school, what ever will you do with all the extra time? Ha!!

    Reply

  2. jude
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 17:34:58

    ahhhh, she emerges…..nothing like a stitching family…. so lets see that suitcase.

    Reply

  3. Ravenhill
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 20:28:53

    ha ha. I am giggling about Jude’s comment and YES, let’s see that suitcase that you stuffed full of fabric!

    Gorgeous quilts!!!

    Glad to hear you are ready to knit! some socks.
    ~Emily xx

    Reply

  4. grandpa H
    Sep 04, 2008 @ 17:59:53

    hope you are feeling better, I was so tired after everyone left that it has taken me several days to get back into doing things. Also apples are ready so been making applesauce for the winter and been making a LOT>
    I to am interested in seeing ALL the fabric you took home. Can you beat M? She has washed and dryed and measured hers and she had 54 yards. Can you beat that???????I really don’t care how much you took, just less for me to deal with. Love grandma H.

    Reply

  5. WAcousin
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 14:17:16

    But, But….they made me take it. They kept putting more boxes in front of me. Being a garment maker, I looked for larger pieces of fabric; it adds up fast. It’s not my fault. Oh, never mind………Oink!!

    Reply

  6. tik tiki
    Sep 05, 2008 @ 15:43:43

    great to hear your daughter’s astitchin’ too!

    Reply

  7. ohime
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 14:03:56

    Yes, let’s see that open suitcase with fabrics tumbling out of it! I bet you could get some excellent pictures doing that…
    I love seeing the family members’ quilts side by side, I’m sure the personalities are quite evident in them, aren’t they?
    All of them are just gorgeous!
    Wonderful post,
    ohime.

    Reply

  8. cathie
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 17:59:44

    Hi Jan. Welcome home. So glad you enjoyed your visit. And what a haul of fabric you came home with!!!

    It’s so cool your daughter is stitching — it’s wonderful to share this between mother and daughter.

    Time to dust off that needle thread and get to sewin’ girl!

    Reply

  9. Laney
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 11:04:13

    Welcome home Jan, these quilts are great. I especially like all the vibrant colors and pattern in your grandmother’s log cabin.
    Hope you are well.

    Reply

  10. whereishenow
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 21:55:30

    thanks all for your comments. And thanks laney, for noticing the great colors in the log cabin quilt. My mom made that, and I was very impressed with the vibrancy!!! I wonder if some of that is polyester……..

    Reply

  11. grandpa H
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 16:51:58

    Jan:, no polyester in the front of this baby quilt, but is on the back. I had put a note on the quilt and found out and remembered that I made that out of squares of log cabin from some that I was learning on and wanted to use them up. It was during a winter snow storm so I wanted to work on a ufo, unfinished object, so took that out and sewed them together and made a baby quilt and put it in the trunk and guess that is where you found it. using up what I had and had fun doing it. love mother

    Reply

Leave a Reply

