monday morning. material update

8 kg of material

8 kg of material

my sister had the brilliant idea to weigh her material, so I stacked it up and there it is!!!  8 kilograms, that would be 17.6 pounds of lovliness.  I ended up taking a lot of the smaller bits…. and there seems to be no rhyme or reason to what caught my eye…….

some reds and blues and greens

some reds and blues and greens

some purples

some purples

stars, planets and USA

stars, planets and USA

i think the best part though was the big ziplock baggy I filled with strips.  A whole bunch of strips that somebody else cut out and that I get to sew together.  I have already sewn a few blocks and can’t wait to get making more. !!!!!!!!!!
baggy of strips!!!

baggy of strips!!!block from strips

in other news.  we took another family trip to the beach yesterday and while I was just sitting and everyone else was doing something else I saw two big stingrays (bigger than a garbage can lid!) leap from the water and dive back in.  It was so cool.  I have seen lots of little guys while snorkeling out there but never any that big.  I didn’t know that they jumped out of the water like that!!!
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiktiki
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 03:53:35

    the fabric-on-the-scale photo will become a family classic! get stitchin’ woman!! and let us see all the loveliness on the other end too.

    Reply

  2. Darlene
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 06:41:29

    All the fabrics look really cool together. I can’t wait to see what you do with it.

    Reply

  3. Laney
    Sep 08, 2008 @ 18:20:03

    wow Jan, I didn’t know they jumped out of the water either! Thanks for the science lesson. The fabric looks fun, can’t wait to see how you work your magic with it.

    Reply

  4. marianne
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 00:35:24

    Oooh,love those purples.As Darlene says,can’t wait to see what magic you do on it all.

    Reply

  5. whereishenow
    Sep 09, 2008 @ 21:58:21

    well. thanks all. I have washed and folded all of it and now it sits in stacks….. these days I am having a blast sewing strips of stuff together and won’t be doing any serious cutting of material until later this winter.

    It’s fun just looking at it. I wish I could cover my walls with it, or hang it all from the ceiling!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

