wow. lots of news in the world!!!!

lots to keep the folks at CNN busy!!!  Looks like trouble in Texas with Ike.  Yesterday a huge earthquake in Northern Japan followed 12 minutes after a huge earthquake in Indonesia..

I WONDER WHERE MY BROTHER IS!!!

Typhoon number 13 which looked like it was heading our way seems to be on it’s way to China. America marks seven years since the terrorists changed our world forever. AND!!!!!  I hear that Tina Fey might be headed back to Saturday Night Live and won’t she be a great Palin!!!!!!

Those of you who know me well know that I am always up for a good garage sale.  I have my mother to thank for passing on the thrill of the hunt and the great joy to be found in great finds…however, even better than a garage sale is picking stuff out of GARBAGE… and in this case…. bags of clothes to be recycled for rags…. every other month the kids in the neighborhood pick up stuff left on the curbs for recycling.  I go along to help, and to look through the bags….and look what I found last time…

Groovy Jeans!!!!

Groovy Jeans!!!!aren't these jeans unbelievable!!! of course they don't fit me but THE COLORS!!! and they are like TIE DYE!!! If and when I ever cut them up they will make an excellent bag... and other stuff too. I can't believe somebody would just throw these out!!!!

Here’s another great find.  Underneath is a blue linen skirt.  The dye is not quite even so I think it is “homemade”. On top is a big hunk of white linen.  I think those flowers are hand painted. It is really cool stuff….. why oh why do people throw such great stuff away???

cotton coaster by Kayla!
cotton coaster by Kayla!
finally, here is the coaster that Kayla is working on.  She is taking her time, she is busy with lots of times, but sometimes I catch her sitting down working on a row or two.  It makes me feel so good just to see her knitting!!!!!!
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Sep 12, 2008 @ 21:47:25

    i expect great things with all this fabric flying around….

    Reply

  2. Jenna
    Sep 13, 2008 @ 03:14:15

    Ok, I’ve had the news on nonstop because I get a little wrapped up in politics sometimes. I have heard nothing of these earthquakes. How scary, was it near you? You’re like my overseas correspondent. I will tell you, though, this Ike is really bad. I feel so sorry for these people in Galveston. It looks like they are going to loose everything.

    Reply

  3. Laney
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 12:17:03

    cool finds Jan…..I always wonder that too, about how people can throw good stuff away….anyway, have fun making cool creations, it’ll be fun to see what comes from those creative hands of yours.

    Reply

  4. grandpa H
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 20:20:55

    Jan: your brother is home so give him a call to find out what is going on. I like the picture of the kids, looks like you ran into some rain. We are having beautiful fall weather and grass is so nice and green. Just a beautiful time of year. Love to all, grandma H

    Reply

  5. Amy
    Sep 18, 2008 @ 02:15:47

    Did you see Tina Fey do Palin? Check out the SNL website and look for the ‘open’ with Tina Fey and Amy Pohler. You’ll be ON THE FLOOR!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

