and the typhoon went somewhere else.

i don’t always know what to blog about… crafting or my kids….

howling wolf quilts and things.

howling wolf quilts and things.

 

my 3 plus a cousin and a neighbor kid

my 3 plus a cousin and a neighbor kid

while I sit and type and wait for the blogging muse to work her magic, my fine young son just zoomed by the front of the house on his scooter.  fast. with a helmet on. and another grey hair just popped out of my scalp. 

As usual, the news on t.v. doesn’t offer much hope.  This week in Japan a mother strangled her 6 year old and left him sitting peacefully in a park.  A five year old girl was found unclothed on the road, the victim of foul play while she walked alone  to a friend’s house. Tons of imported tainted rice has invaded Japan, and contaminated milk has killed 4 in China and sickened tens of thousands.  Products from this contamination are being removed from store shelves in Japan. There doesn’t seem to be much hope.  There is, though.  Despite the doom and gloom (not to mention the financial crisis) my fine young son continues on his circuit around the block, on a bicycle now, riding much too fast, huge toothless grin (he lost his front tooth a few days ago) blissfully unaware of all the tragedy that someday will turn his hair grey, worried now only about keeping pace with his friend.

CHOOSE LIFE

only that and always,

and at whatever risk…

To let life leak out,

to let it wear away

by the mere passage of time,

to withhold giving it

and spending it

is to choose nothing.

S.H. Kelley                                      

Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad!!!

Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ravenhill
    Sep 23, 2008 @ 06:34:32

    Jan, your post mirrors many of the thoughts I have been having. It is a shame that the news is filled with such horrors, and that they should even exist. Lovely that we have our delightful little families to keep our thoughts on good things. As I write my daughter is snuggling with me. 🙂

    I love the wolf! The colors are so vibrant and pretty!

    I just blogged about some linen that I bought at a flea market. Someone commented that it looked Japanese! I am rather curious about it as quite unusual.

    Hope you are doing well!
    ~Emily xxx

    Reply

  2. jude
    Sep 24, 2008 @ 16:08:02

    wow, what a mix all in one post!

    Reply

  3. Jolene
    Sep 25, 2008 @ 02:11:37

    The media hypes the bad but there is good all around, and we are all proof of that. We just have to try to keep shining through.

    Reply

  4. WAcousin
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 14:44:35

    OK, I know your blog is “Where is my brother”. But, I’m wondering where are you, Jan? Hope all is well.

    Reply

  5. Michelle at Scribbit
    Oct 03, 2008 @ 14:54:20

    When I came to your home page it showed “no posts match your query” and I had to go to the archives to find this! Sorry I’m late!

    Thanks for your nice offer, but don’t worry about that international shipping thing. It’s wonderful of you to offer though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

