in memory

hey mom…..do you remember the trips in to Bellingham to see Laurette Langille?  She sang the blues.  I used to go to bars to hear her play.  I would try to find people to go with, finding places where she was playing, and going to see her.  I talked to her once in the bathroom.  I told her that she sang the hell out of Joplin and that she must be rolling over in her grave with happiness.  I just now found her obituary in the Bellingham Herald………she died Sept. 8 at the age of 51.  She was only 6 years older than me.  It doesn’t say how she died…. I have one compilation c.d. with one song on it that she sings.  I will listen to it today in her memory. 

Laurette Langille
Laurette Langille

 

Rest in Peace…

you are rocking in heaven with Janis now.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 17:45:32

    hmm. makes you think….

    Reply

  2. grandpa H
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 18:08:20

    yes I remember, good memories to, love mother

    Reply

  3. whereishenow
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 21:37:30

    jude… it does make me think. it makes me think that life is short and life is precious and that I need to make the most of it while I can. look for the good, stress less, create more and count your blessings.

    Reply

  4. Miss Behaving
    Oct 23, 2008 @ 07:31:52

    Wow, I have never heard her sing but she was beautiful.

    Reply

  5. DW
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 03:46:00

    She died of breast cancer that had matastisized to her spine. You are lucky to have seen her perform. She was my sister.

    Reply

  6. Jack Work
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 05:20:59

    She made Cal’s Tavern an event, she was wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

