aloha…….

silky aloha

silky aloha

Have I mentioned that I collect Aloha shirts?? In fact, I collect shirts in general, especially made in the U.S.A.  aloha shirts.  Any size. Any color. I just gotta have ’em.  I got this silky number last week.  It’s kind of cheesy, and it’s made in China, but it’s perfect.  It has 5 fabulous wooden buttons and it fits.  I might keep it as is, or cut it up…. (so far I haven’t cut up any of my shirts…).  I have a friend in need of some Aloha love, so I gathered up some shirts which I am hesitant to part with, but , I trust that she will respect  and love them properly , I will send them to her with my blessing…..so today, I say good bye to them…..

3 for the road
3 for the road
good bye old friends.
go in peace.
Recently I mentioned that I would be making some changes on my new flea market Levi’s Jacket. I had a few free mornings and got to work.  I am living out a dream I have had since I was a kid in the 70″s to have a demin shirt with embroidery all over it.  I haven’t really thought of myself as an embroiderer so much, I am a quilter.  I realized that the embellishing that I have been adding to my quilts is really embroidery, so when I saw this jacket, I realized that I had to have it and that I would “illustrate” it.
I am going to call it “The tatoo jacket”
INSPIRATION

INSPIRATION

 starting out with some marine life…….

some stitching

some stitching

–He took his shirt off and wadded it in his hands. He was covered with Illustrations from the blue tatooed ring about his neck to his belt line.

“It keeps right on going,” he said, guessing my thought. “All of me is Illustrated. Look.” He opened his hand . On his palm was a rose, freshly cut, with drops of crystal water among the soft pink petals.  I put my hand out to touch it, but it was only an Illustration……..

from THE ILLUSTRATED MAN… by Ray Bradbury

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 23:52:09

    gosh this all so 60s. you should have seen my jeans way back then…illustrated to say the least.

    Reply

  2. Miss Behaving
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 12:02:57

    Please, my dearest friend, trust that this woman will deeply respect the gesture given and will love the |Aloha outa them shirts.
    And may I point out to your readers that the gesture was made because a good friend was diagnosed with one of those nasty nasty diseases, he is from Hawaii, so a group of us are taking our pix in Aloha shirts to bring him joy.

    So your gesture of love goes way deeper than shirts for a friend.
    Thank you my friend in Nagasaki.
    You are alway with me.

    Reply

  3. Miss Behaving
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 13:09:20

    Just to say, said shirts survived the rocky road from southern Japan and I am blown away, they are beyond words. The hula dancing gal one particularly is exquisite.
    I love them and all the other goodies in the bok and will treasure them.
    Thank you.
    xxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

  4. Laney
    Nov 01, 2008 @ 11:52:20

    Wow Jan, the shirts are great and the gesture I am sure well received. The jacket is AWESOME..I want one too now! Maybe I’m good enough at embroidery….I’ll just tell everyone to not look too close at it.

    The quote from the book was great, felt like I was reading erotica there for a minute….geez.(blushing)

    Can’t wait to see more of the jacket!

    Reply

  5. whereishenow
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 21:51:35

    miss behaving, thanks for the update on the aloha…. i know that you will wear them in love and peace…

    Laney, i had to overcome the “embroidery” pressure and just decide that I am “embellishing” the jacket, just like a quilt. You can do quilts, so you can do a jacket, or shirt. Just do it!!!

    One stitch at a time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

