what if….

your hard drive dies and you didn’t back it up…

what if reality is that your link to the world is temporarily broken and you are left to local friends and phone calls….

what if we lived in a world where people could marry any one that they loved…regardless of gender, color, religious beliefs or status…

what if the choosing a leader didn’t have anything to do with gender, color or heritage….

what if this blog was a liberal political in your face save the whales hug a tree peace on earth soap box ranting anti-nuclear pro-veggie vehicle for my personal philosophy.

????? ????? ?????

WELL IT’S NOT!!!!

(and aren’t you relieved)

So, the hard drive died, and the neighbor computer guru was able to tell me that there was ZERO left to recover and he laughed (quite enthusiastically) as he told me that I really should have backed it up…. (I don’t even think he has seen that episode of Sex and the City…) so, I have lost some photos… luckily I have quite a few on flickr, and on my blog and the memory card of photos that I took when we went to America…

My husband immediately went out and bought me a brand new computer….

“I just want you to be happy, babe….”

and I was back on line immediately.  (we have now become a FICTION/FANTASY blog)

anyhoo.  we did get a new (hardly used) computer and I am back up and ready to go.  I was going to include pictures today, of all the progress I was able to make with all my free time without computer distraction… but….. the batteries in my camera need to be charged and that takes several hours. 

I will be back later with updates on THE ILLUSTRATED JACKET, and possibly announcements on the new president…. We will know here first because JAPAN is a day ahead of THE U.S….. (we have now become a humor blog).

“Sometimes in quiltmaking,  we go off on learning tangents for years.

It’s no different from real life.

Sometimes it takes a long time to learn something simple.”

Joan Colvin,  The Nature of Design.

 

(and we are still a stitching blog….one stitch at a time)

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grandpa H
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 00:03:17

    so glad you are up and running, I missed your blog. rain today and of course some wind just blowing our leaves away. anxious to see that jacket, Love mother

    Reply

  2. jude
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 17:10:59

    i was wondering where you went. what a night it was and what a new day it is.

    Reply

  3. debbie
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 21:51:19

    So…a newish computer, huh? THAT sounds lovely! Thanks to my guru, my computer has a “scheduled back-up” that happens once a week….now if it does crash, all my incredibly important stuff (pictures, jokes and whatnot!) will be saved….but…where? I have no clue!
    Glad you’re up and running again. Waiting for pictures of the jacket!!!

    Reply

  4. kate
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 11:26:45

    So the infamous, globe-trotting, “does he really exsist?” brother can be found at the same address as his wife and kids- imagine that!?! He has been home with us for over a month while in job search mode AND we are still HAPPILY married :-))) yeah!!!
    It has been fun having him here, different, but fun. Who knows, with this next job, he might not be all over the place much….does that mean you will change the name of the blog?????

    Hope all is well with everyone. Glad you are back in touch with the world. Tell the kids that their cousins keep asking to see them.

    Reply

  5. Miss Behaving
    Nov 09, 2008 @ 00:17:48

    Glad you are back.
    Yeah that old ‘didn’t you back up?’ question.
    BTDT sucks doesn’t it.
    I think I now have a system like Deb’s, where will all that back up be????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

