a special day

I would like to dedicate today’s post to a special friend who is celebrating a birthday. She and I became acquainted through a forum on the web and spent a hot summer week together with our 7 kids. She is fabulous.  We share so much on the phone…. she grew up in the U.K. and I grew up in the U.S.A. …despite that, we have so much in common.  She’s my lifeline, we talk about everything….our kids, school life, politics, t.v., she has a steel trap memory for movies and actors… AND she tolerates my ongoing never ending passion for knitting and quilting (she is such a good listener) .  We share the good, the bad, the happy and the sad.  We also have this unexplainable mutual fascination  with mountain climbing (reading about it, not doing it) and pass books back and forth to discuss.  I think if we could plan a dream vacation together we would trek to the base camp at Everest….anyway, she is good people and I wanted to dedicate these birds to her…. as soon as I finish up some books I am reading,  I will send them along to her.

rosemary's birds

rosemary

 

HAPPY BIRD DAY C.T.!!!

and many happy returns.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. illahee
    Nov 16, 2008 @ 08:39:56

    ooooh, happy birthday lightning!!

    btw, my dear jan, did you know there’s going to be an international quilt show at the yahoo dome in fukuoka? for three days during the first week of december….

    Reply

  2. tik tiki
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 05:11:02

    funny that these birds are sitting in rosemary. that same wonderful friend once rubbed her hand through the rosemary and wiped it on her head saying it makes you smart. i have such a strong memory of that. i can smell the rosemary now! nice post! beautiful birdies (tweet-tweet)

    Reply

  3. Miss Behaving
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 05:04:58

    Awww! Gals I luv ya, luv luv luv ya, your the best.
    Thanks for a lovely birthday post, the birds in the rosemary are worth two in the bush.

    I thank you Jan for remembering my birthday, I know at your age its not always easy to keep up with us young ‘uns, but ya did a fine job, and you know without you I would have no week, the days would mesh into one blur of chaos, without
    our a.m. chats/vents/pep talks, nothing and I mean NOTHING would get done on my end.
    xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

