Happy Thanksgiving

Today of all days I want to sit down and count my blessings.  I need to remind myself that I am  lucky to be living in such comfort and safety. I have so much to be thankful for.  I couldn’t even begin to list what overflows from my cup.  From health, to family, to love, to friends, to all that keeps me living a sane and balanced life.  I wish that I didn’t take it for granted and that I would appreciate more and complain less. I woke up to non-stop coverage of the tragedy in Mumbai.  It’s a harsh reminder that all that is good can change so quickly.  My prayers go out to the people there and to their families. To my friends in India (and you know who you are)  …keep safe. At times like these, as ever, it is important to continue our fight for a peaceful planet and to keep on sharing the love. It is also our duty as citizens of the earth to keep on creating and doing what we love… on that note, I would like to share a photo of the knitting projects I am committing myself to finishing before I start anything new…….

knitting

knitting

let’s see, from the top left, in white, is the “heartbreakingly cute baby kimono” from Mason-Dixon….it will go to Germany next week for a grandbaby not yet born. Middle top is the beginning of a scarf being made from a re-purposed sweater I pulled out of the trash…. it will be be the “grown up bonnet” from KNIT 2 TOGETHER. Top right in (recycled) Icelandic wool is a Yarn Harlot pancho for Kayla….below that, in many yarn scraps, is a BOLSA DE OLLANTAYTAMBO (bag) from ANDEAN FOLK KNITS and finally, from MINDFUL KNITTING is the mustard yellow Kata felicity scarf to wrap around a cold neck in India…there is also a bath mat in progress….

THE ILLUSTRATED JACKET

peace

peace

in keeping with the whole groovy 60s mood, I have added a peace sign.  I also filled in some stuff… later I will be adding a skull and a spider (for good luck) .

~~~~~~~~~

May it be beautiful before me
May it be beautiful behind me
May it be beautiful all around me
In beauty may I walk
In beauty it is finished.
–concluding lines of Navajo, “Blessing Way”–
Happy Thanksgiving to Everyone.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tiktiki
    Nov 27, 2008 @ 08:41:21

    beautiful, beautiful post.
    and
    my neck is ready at last.
    the nice, cooler weather has lightened my entire being.

    Reply

  2. debbie
    Nov 27, 2008 @ 13:25:35

    Your jacket is looking great!
    Happy non-poultry-Thanksgiving Day to you, too!
    (was tofurkey actually any good? keep hearing people talk about it, but I have no clue!!)
    Stay warm!
    d.

    Reply

  3. laneyloo
    Nov 28, 2008 @ 01:29:55

    Happy Thanksgiving to you to Jan….thanks for the reminder to remember the blessings.

    The jacket is amazing! Wow they are divergent images, but all come together so beautifully. Beautifully stitched and the colors are gorgeous.

    Reply

  4. jude
    Nov 30, 2008 @ 23:05:04

    happiness to you. beautiful post and lovely blessing. love that peace sign!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

