dec. 3…..one down….

finished the HEARTBREAKINGLY CUTE KIMONO from MASON-DIXON this morning and will give it to a grandmother -to- be today.  I added just a bit of blue striping and knit the tie……it turned out cute.. and a relatively easy and quick project to make…

 

sweater-001

baby kimono

~~~~~~~~

next up we have the christmas count down tree

that I made several years ago

from burlap and felt and dress hooks (25 of ’em)

felt tree

felt tree

 ????????

and finally, I have a shout out to all my crafty readers

I just missed the big 20% off sale at interweave press

but, I wanted to ask you all about the “Paintstik”

does anybody use them and have recommendations about them?

I have been curious about them and have wondered if I should get some.

They seem quite expensive, but maybe they last a long time?

Maybe they will open up great new color  and design opportunities?

or should I just use crayons!!!!

If I get some, would I also want to get some rubbing plates?

Besides your needles and thread, what is your favorite quilting tool?

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dongurigal
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 06:08:28

    Belated, but I love love love your birds. Did you start a fish flickr site yet?

    Reply

  2. illahee
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 06:30:59

    oh man, that kimono is super-CUTE!!

    Reply

  3. whereishenow
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 08:04:56

    illahee, the heartbreakingly cute kimono is in the mason dixon book, their first book and is SO EASY to make. I adapted it a bit, making it bigger than the pattern…. simple and cute… I plan on making more!!!!

    dongurigal… the birds are a nice change from the fish… and no flickr fish site yet…. must get going on that… i am finding it hard to get my butt in gear…i am feeling overwhelmed by all that i am not even thinking about doing….I will start the flickr group soon but only if you promise to post from DOHA and not that other place you are going…

    Reply

  4. jude
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 23:57:05

    i don’t like paintsticks. they smell foul. i can send you mine, i never use them…. since i am sending you something soon anyway.
    one really strange tote, some selvedge mags, and a few surprises. i will wait till after the holiday to avoid mail crash. ok?

    Reply

  5. whereishenow
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 00:10:04

    one strange tote, some stinky paintsticks and some surprises!!!

    and some selvedge magazines!!!!!

    sounds too good to be true!!! thank you!!!! I didn’t know I had that much karma in the bank. and after the holiday would be great!!!! thank you!!!!

    Reply

  6. ditoh
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 03:21:57

    I love that little kimono and would love to make one for my DD’s American girl doll. Was the original pattern for a doll?

    Reply

  7. whereishenow
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 06:15:54

    hey, ditoh…

    my cousin makes amazing american girl doll clothes for her granddaughter….

    the original pattern for the “heartbreakingly cute baby kimono” comes from MASON- DIXON KNITTING… their first book… they have a new one out now, too. It is really a super easy pattern to knit (all knitting, no purling.. just increasing and decreasing) that I wonder if you could just make a few adjustments so that it would fit a doll….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

