there’s no place like home!!!!!

HAPPY MOO YEAR

cow

cow

here we are, 2009
3 kids had a great time
with their cousins…

miyazaki-002miyazaki-003
and on the ferry…..
miyazaki-010
now, we are home
and I am so happy to be here.
“The year of the OX begins on the New Moon of January 26, 2009… In Buddhism, the white ox symbolizes contemplation and wisdom.  According to an ancient Taoist legend, we humans have a special relationship with Ox.  Ox year is a time of hard work, discipline and duty. Like an ox plowing the fields, we must toil during an Ox year. This is not a time for laziness. Success is attained through diligent labor and conscientious effort. Begin by putting your affairs in order, especially your home.   Stick to tried and true methods, careful actions, and routine behavior.  Wild new concepts will not be well received.  Save them for the following Tiger year.”   (paraphrased from WE’MOON  ’09)
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenna
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 02:41:56

    I like your description of the year of the ox. It seems so fitting for this year. Happy New Year to you and your family.

    Reply

  2. sherrywk
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 03:53:58

    Happy New Year.

    Reply

  3. Jazz
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 17:34:41

    Happy Moo Year to you too! Sounds like an Ox year is just what we need right now! May it be peaceful and happy for you and yours. xx

    Reply

  4. Laney
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 01:31:26

    your kids are gorgeous Jan. They always look really happy…they must have a very grounded and good mom.

    as for the getting my affairs in order and the year of the ox…something I needed to hear….especially my house….
    I have enough thrifted fabric to quilt the world a quilt…..maybe if I stay busy using it to make practical objects…hats, bags, quilts…..I will get to be creative and organized too….
    Thank you for the Happy New Year wishes..I hope your is wonderful too!

    Reply

  5. jude
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 15:12:35

    yes, i agree with laney…and only you could say happy moo year! i think this nice story is good advice and it has a welcomed ring in my new years ears…..thank you and all the best to you and your beautiful family.

    Reply

  6. Jacqui
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 05:23:54

    I love your cow, so cute!
    I was locked out of comments before (?) sorry I am commenting late on this one. happy new Year!

    Happy birthday to the kids!
    I LOVE your recycled PJ quilt! You are so clever.

    There’s a new poster around the blog world : Make Do and Mend

    I thought of you immediately when I saw it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

