AAAAAAOOOOOOOHHHH!!!!!

my logo

my logo

the full moon that you look up at tonight

will be the wolf  moon.

I will not be seeing that moon

because it is snowing.

snow

snow

 

wolf moon

wolf moon

it is so cold (in the house) that I am wearing fingerless gloves,  a hot pack in my back pocket and a honey bottle filled with hot water is tucked between my legs with a quilt over to keep the heat in.  It is how we survive in a Japanese house in the winter…. other people have electric carpets and “kotatsu tables” with heaters under and quilts over, but we do not.  We also do not have a heated toilet seat which is not as frivolous as it sounds if your toilet is in the unheated part of the house.

 

anyway, the cold spell will pass soon.  the snow is beautiful and tomorrow is the  -bonfire and hot soup – neighborhood get -together to burn all the new year’s decorations and good luck charms. Sake will be heated to be drunk from bamboo cups and mochi (pounded rice formed into little balls) will be roasted and eaten gooey hot. I will take pictures and share them later.

 

 

Happy Wolf  Moon Everybody!!!

*****

Busy, normal people: the world is here.

Can you hear it wailing, crying, whispering?

Listen: the world is here.

Don’t you hear it,

Praying and sighing and groaning for wholeness?

Sighing and whispering: wholeness,

Wholeness, wholeness?

*****

from “An African Call for Life”

FULL MOON FEAST 

by Jessica Prentice 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 13:53:25

    snow here too

    Reply

  2. Ravenhill
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 11:34:10

    Jan, I had no idea that it was so cold in your house in the winter! What part is actually heated? Perhaps the houses aren’t insulated very much? This reminds me of growing up in Maine for me- living in a freezing 200+ year old home.

    And I loved your wolf moon poem, as we have a wonderful book that the children love to read, about all the months and their different moons!
    ~Emily xx

    Reply

  3. whereishenow
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 21:51:26

    Jude, bundle up and keep warm!!!
    emily!!! great to see you back!!!

    this week , in particular, is cold. the house is NOT insulated. The windows are single pane and in fact, poorly fitted… we could buy all kinds of heat but choose to “tough it out”. We have a kerosene stove that I can keep a kettle and a pot on so I usually have a pot of chili or soup going all the time and hot water for drinks and general use.

    Maybe we have the same book??? I have “When the moon is full, A LUNAR YEAR” .. I found it used because Amazon didn’t have it new.

    Happy New Year!!!

    Reply

  4. Girl Japan
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 01:56:58

    Hey there… thank you so much for the tips on sewing.. If I could find someone to sew them for me.. I would.. but have not found anyone yet = ( I greatly appreciate your tips…

    Reply

  5. tiktiki
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 14:38:41

    is that your street? i love seeing your street!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

