let’s get crazy!!!!

It’s the perfect combination!

a chance to use up scraps!

a chance to practice new stitches!!

no rules! no guides!! no limits!!!

4 crazy blocks!

4 crazy blocks!

I had some 11 inch square scraps and I just started sewing some scraps on…playing around a bit.  I have never done crazy patch on a backing… but I have sewn scraps together before.  It’s kind of tricky keeping it all straight and I have a few  ” mistakes”, but the embellishing and the embroidery will cover them up.  I am kind of experimenting, but I have a great book to refer to and this afternoon I will try out some new embroidery. I have sewn 4 blocks together, now it’s a good size to do some lap quilting.  My mom said that her mother worked small projects  and did some feather stitching like I am planning to do.  I envy my cousin (hello WA cousin!!!) because she got to spend time with our grandmother and learn some stitching…. I wish I could hang out with her and we could work on this together….

 

back side crazy patchwork

back side crazy patchwork

I have lots and lots of scraps, so I will probably make 3 more sets like this and put together a quilt size project.  I think the slow part will be the fancy stitching.  The stitching will  be total experimentation and I can try out lots of ideas and put all the books on my shelf about embroidery to good use.
If anyone has any tips or advice for me…. bring it on!!!!    encouragement, technique and inspiration is welcome!
Listen deeply for what
your soul already knows,
weave your overflowing
love for the earth
into your daily life.
excerpt   Patricia Dines 2007, from We’Moon 09.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ravenhill
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 05:36:51

    Jan, what a wonderful project! I love the scrappiness! What fun to play this way and it is turning out fabulously. This is a true labor of love!
    Happy weekend to you!
    ~Emily xxx

    Reply

  2. Laney
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 10:48:59

    this is really cool Jan. I especially like the plaids.I love scrappy quilts like this, because there is always something new to discover, everytime you see it. A new shape you hadn’t noticed or an especially vibrant color. Thanks for the excerpt, beautiful words to ponder. Hope your new year is going well.

    Reply

  3. jude
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 22:30:11

    just keep going.

    Reply

  4. WAcousin
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 02:51:11

    I’m so sorry you didn’t get to know our grandmother. In spite of her swollen hands and bent fingers (she called it rheumatism), Grandma loved to teach the latest craft or newest embroidery stitch. She would be very proud of your work.

    I agree with Jude. Just do what comes naturally. You don’t need advice from us!!

    Reply

  5. whereishenow
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 03:16:37

    thank you all for your support. You all do such beautiful work that is is an honor to have you visit and leave your comments.

    wacousin, thank you… I went back to edit my post… thank you for such kind words about our grandmother. you were so lucky to get to hang out and stitch with her!!!

    someday, when we come see you, I am looking forward to learning some fancy work from you!!!

    Reply

  6. tiktiki
    Jan 24, 2009 @ 13:35:53

    really nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

