queen size quilt top in progress

6 inch squares

6 inch squares

 

I just love to sew squares together.  So, I did.  I started this a year or two ago and decided to finish it now, baste it, start quilting it and get it done before it is too warm to work it….

back of 6 inch squares

back of 6 inch squares

 

This will be the back.  I used a bunch of large floral prints that I didn’t want to cut up into tiny pieces.  I used a big piece of cardboard for a template and started sewing things together.  I really like that orange piece!!! It is so big that it is going to be a pain to baste straight…. I don’t plan on lining it, so it will be rather light.  The four squares in the center are seed packets.

corn moon!!!

corn moon!!!

 no new in nine.  no new in nine.  no new in nine.  no new in nine.  no new in nine.  no new in nine.  no new in nine.

RRRR

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. debbie
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 02:21:07

    Wow! The pinkish-purple squares really set it off, don’t they? Looks very nice…very “you”, my dear.

    Reply

  2. ditoh
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 09:10:56

    I was curious…How many quilts do you have? How many have you made yourself?

    Reply

  3. WAcousin
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 20:35:14

    “no new in nine” No new fabric? No new UFOs? No new projects? Fess up!!

    Reply

  4. whereishenow
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 01:06:39

    ditoh… i think that i have completed about a quilt a year. I have been sewing them for 12 or 13 years now, so if i counted, maybe 12 or 13 with several “in progress” on the sidelines. The first quilt I ever completed was given to a close friend to celebrate the birth of her 2nd son. the next 3 or 4 were for my kids… my parents have one and my sister has two and the daughter of someone special got one… it’s a “healing” quilt. 2 or 3 are “in use” but not quite complete… when the quilt speaks to me, it will be passed on the the proper owner..

    Reply

  5. ditoh
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 10:13:51

    I was looking at one blog and the woman just kept creating quilt after quilt-and she was new at it. The site was filminthefridge.com

    Could you take a look at her blog for me? Tell me what you think.

    Reply

  6. Ravenhill
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 16:13:07

    Jan, the back is even more complicated than the front! You have sure been working hard and doing beautiful work! I am also curious what you mean “no new in nine”? I have a package nearly ready to mail off to you sitting on my desk just waiting for the finishing touches! 🙂

    Hugs from Emily

    Reply

Leave a Reply

