the four goddesses….

The four goddesses(jude, tik tiki, ditoh, and miss behaving) sat together discussing the very best and most flavorful way to prepare the lunch… which vegetables to be chopped and saute’ed and which herbs to be gathered…

“I shall gather the celery, it will be so fresh, and hunt for some mushrooms, I know just where to find some”…said Hestia,(ditoh) the goddess of the hearth… “I know this land well, some call me the queen, I will be back here soon, with my finds”….

“and I,” said Artemis,(tik tiki) the goddess of nature…nurturer and protector… “will go and hunt for some basil, oregano and perhaps even some rosemary..I  saw some just yesterday on my walk, these will be delicious additions to our meal…”

“while you are all traipsing both hither and yon, I will wash up some rice and boil it all nicely,  dancing and singing  while I await your return” sang Oya, (miss behaving)…the goddess of music and dance, wind and fire…”like lightning, I will have hot victuals ready for our lunch…”

“and I will remain with you, Oya.. and prepare the onions, and set a table for our feast ” chimed in Tait, (jude)the goddess of weaving… and knotter of the threads of fate. “I will adorn our table with cloth woven from magic thread and silk and embellished with the spirits of our ancestors”

The four scattered in their ways and brought together the makings for lunch,prepared it with love and sat down to partake…but first they gave thanks to the four winds that blow… and to love and to peace …and they prayed…

Let’s gather round the lake now

hold hands

and sing from our luminous throats

our proud bellies

Let’s charge up the water molecules

with our love

and send out a current of healing

to the sleepy houses

all filled with TV static and the loss of

everyday divinity

Let’s.

(Prayer by–Shae Savoy)

dancing goddesses

dancing goddesses

 SPRING HERB RICE

boil 1 cup of rice in 1 3/4 cup water.

meanwhile… in a large skillet, cook  in  1 TBSP. butter :

1 cup chopped onion

1 cup sliced celery

1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms

salt and pepper

Add the fragrant and lovely vegetables to the cooked rice and stir gently.

Snip you favorite herbs and add them to the mix…

basil, oregano, parsley, thyme, verbena and rosemary are good!!!

******

Special thanks to Miss Behaving,  Jude, ditoh, and tik tiki for commenting and participating in the “Name that Herb!” contest.  They will each be sent a goddess….

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    May 16, 2009 @ 15:06:41

    ha! now this was a fabulous post, a great story, a terrific gift giving exercise and a wonderful recipe. for peace.

    Reply

  2. tik tiki
    May 17, 2009 @ 10:55:23

    !!!!

    Reply

  3. marianne
    May 18, 2009 @ 13:54:44

    I love dem ladies;)

    Reply

  4. ditoh
    May 20, 2009 @ 12:39:51

    You are amazing!

    Reply

  5. Miss Behaving
    May 20, 2009 @ 12:43:55

    OMG, that is your best post ever, I LOVE IT!, I LOVE YOU,
    I LOVE TIKTIKI, I LOVE DITOH, and I am going to go out and find me that damn JUDE and LOVE HER TOO!!!

    Brilliant, made my day!!!
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Reply

  6. Jacqui from Mee a Bee
    May 22, 2009 @ 22:47:40

    This is beautiful Jan and knowing some of these four goddesses myself it is even more special.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

