sew what, i am a rock star

i got my rock moves...

rock on!!!!

yesterday while i was on the phone with my sister, the neighbor came over to invite me to go with her to the flea market… so i hung up on my sister and away we went!!!Β  I was in search of KASURI… old japanese woven cloth and i found some….

3 pieces for 100 yen..

at current rate of exchange, with a distressingly low dollar… about 85 cents for 3 pieces….. notice the dragonfly pattern in the lower right…….i don’t know yet what i’ll make, but probably will be used to make bags… or goddess quilts… I also found a nice cotton kimono that i can cut up or not… and a nice wool kimono that I think the neighbor lady is going to help me reform into a jacket….they were just a couple hundred yen each…

cotton kimono with red lining..

wool kimono with no lining

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 15:12:55

    oh oh oh. nice.

    Reply

  2. WAcousin
    Dec 05, 2009 @ 16:34:44

    I’ve said it before, but your flea markets are soooooo much better than ours.

    Reply

  3. Clare
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 20:43:18

    Hi there! I was wondering if you could share the names of a couple of flea markets where you can get scrap fabric in Tokyo.

    My brother is living in Tokyo at the moment and I would like to send him on a shopping trip to seek:
    – Kasuri scraps
    – Old Kimono (to cut up)
    – Kimono silk scraps or recycled fabric

    …but I don’t know which flea markets to recommend. Also, about how much should he expect to pay for this stuff? I have heard you can buy scrap kimono silk by the kilo – any idea of the price per kilo (in Yen)?

    Thanks for any help you can offer πŸ™‚
    Clare

    Reply

    • whereishenow
      Jan 16, 2010 @ 04:51:57

      hi clare… thanks for visiting and commenting!!
      I can’t help you much because I am in Nagasaki and have never done the flea market thing in Tokyo.. in my side bar you will find 4 blogs under the heading “CRAFTERS IN JAPAN” and they might be able to help you…check them out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

