Projects in Motion

 …when i finish a quilt, and people comment on it, they always ask me “how long did this take” and i don’t have an answer for them…for many reasons… one reason is that i don’t keep track of my time and another reason is that i have several projects going at once, i follow my mood and pick up something that feels right at the time…sometimes knitting and sometimes stitching… sometimes piecing or cutting or embellishing…. little stuff or big stuff… something that requires intense concentration or something i can watch t.v. and work on….so today, i pulled out some of the stuff i have been working on lately… and i think that i need to do something about my “projects in motion” because turns out… there are quite a few!!!!!

quilt top #1
quilt top #2
pieced quilt back
quilt top #3

 Playing with blue and white denim and embroidery…..

playing with embellishing before piecing….

quilt top #4

a strip quilt with traditional quilt block  patterns 

quilt top #5

grandmother’s flow garden which i have been working on FOR—–EVER!!!

various knitting projects…

a hat, a bathmat, a bag, a blanket and  a sock

“little” sewing projects…

fish, birds, goddesses and dresden plates….

 

Whew…. and that’s not all…but that is the main stuff… my goal isn’t to get it all done…. rather just to keep right on going… playing with it, enjoying it and finishing stuff as it gets done.  Most people say, while watching me stitch… “oh, I don’t have the patience for that…”  or “you are so patient to be able to do that” and that is so not true…. those of you who do this stuff know that it’s PASSION not PATIENCE….no amount of patience would allow me to do this stuff if i didn’t love it so much.  It’s in my blood… i guess i have my mom and my grandmother and her mom to thank for that.

Listen deeply for what

your soul already knows,

weave your overflowing

love for the earth

into your daily life.

—excerpt  Patricia Dines 2007

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ditoh
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 08:45:22

    You’ve got a lot of wip going on there. Right now I have 2 passions. The kimono corsages and the gameboard frames. I’m hoping to finish them all up by Monday and then it’ll be onto something new. My wip usually last about 1 season.

    Reply

    • whereishenow
      Jan 29, 2010 @ 09:38:11

      i can’t wait to see your gameboard frames!!!

      yah, i have lots going on… but they don’t give me stress or pressure, just always have something to work on..

      Reply

  2. illahee
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 09:45:20

    i am similar!

    and i need to visit you again, maybe i can get some knitting tips from you!

    Reply

  3. jude
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 23:15:41

    gee, you really have a lot going here…..

    Reply

  4. Ravenhill
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 10:40:36

    Hi Jan!

    You are a busy and productive lady! I love to see all these projects going, I am the same, but on a smaller scale. I haven’t even been able to imagine doing such large projects as those marvelous quilt tops and bottoms you are working on. It has been beyond my realm of time and energy. I hope you feel great satisfaction when you see them all photographed there like that, knowing that you are creating wonderful things!

    Thank you so much for the lovely card! I was so thrilled to get it. I wrote one back right away, but of course, it is still here on my desk… Soon! 🙂

    Happy quilting day to you! Hugs from Emily

    Reply

    • whereishenow
      Jan 31, 2010 @ 23:08:46

      thanks emily… as far as big projects go… i just get started and they keep getting bigger and then eventually they get done…. very very long term…..and it feels so good to fold up that finished quilt in the end ….

      happy (belated) birthday !!!

      Reply

  5. tik tiki
    Feb 09, 2010 @ 02:55:13

    just keep right on going, jan. everything looks absolutely FAB!

    Reply

    • whereishenow
      Feb 09, 2010 @ 03:03:52

      when i was living in the mountains, and EVERYONE was knitting, this tall guy (i men like 6 foot 8) was knitting a giant sweater… when he made a mistake and there was no one around to help out he would say (with a texan drawl and a slight stutter) ” ahm just gonna keep raight on goin'”….. and since then, it has been my mantra…. and it is good…

      I am just going to keep right on going!!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

