photo hint

 

this is how i used make long strips of fabric...

 

piece of long lumber i keep on my deck…

pencil..

scissors….

that’s how i used to mark and cut looong pieces of fabric…..

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jude
    Feb 28, 2010 @ 23:54:00

    well i suppose you’d be tearing them now!

    Reply

  2. Ditoh
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 01:38:22

    I can’t trust myself. I’m buying pre-cut.

    Reply

  3. whereishenow
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 02:08:03

    that’s right Jude!!!! I am tearing now!!! those 3 (my mom, my sister and my cousin) we talking about RIPPING cloth… and a huge light went on in my brain….. because it RIPS STRAIGHT!!! right down the weave….. so now when i need 6 feet long — 6 inches wide…. i just cut a little notch and RRRRRRIPPPPPPPPPPPPPP and there it is!!!!!!!

    simplicity. relative accuracy. no long boards necessary!!!

    Reply

  4. WAcousin
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 02:19:32

    Wow!! I didn’t see the light bulb over your head when we talked about ripping……

    I know you don’t spend much time in quilt stores, but the best ones always rip their cottons instead of cutting.

    Reply

    • whereishenow
      Mar 01, 2010 @ 02:27:38

      yeah, i go to my local sewing shop only once or twice a year and i usually only buy remnants from the bargain bin….i get most of my material from garage sales, the garbage and my mom’s stash…….(thanks EL!!!!)

      ripping has opened up a whole new world for me!!!

      remember that old DEVO song…..”RIP IT…RIP IT GOOD……”

      Reply

  5. grandma H
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 19:07:39

    hi Jan: I thought that the hint was letting your fabric or project talk to you. I do know that if I am having problems with something I put it away till something comes to me and then I know what to do, so I do TALK with my fabric. Your aunt toots thinks that is something else, but guess she knows me well.
    love mother

    Reply

    • whereishenow
      Mar 01, 2010 @ 21:56:26

      hey mom!!! (aka grandma H) it’s no magic trick that my fabric talks to me (us)…. and it’s probably no surprise to people that have a love affair with fabric….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

