some of my favorite things…..

treasure collection

part of being a quilter is also being a collector…. of  material, gadgets and nifty measuring devices….most of these things i use, some i do not…….

at the top are the wooden squares that my father made…squares and triangles cut to size to use as quilting patterns….. from 6 inch down to 1 inch….he glued sandpaper on the back so they don’t slide around on the material…. I use them exclusively….unless i am ripping….

next is my super -de-duper PENTEL “graphgear 500”  with .9mm (thick) lead.. mechanical pencil .  It just feels awesome to hold…. and above that a little ruler which i hardly ever use…. 

over on the bottom left are some antique needles from the U.S. (1960) and from Japan…my leather clover thimble (works great but too sweaty except for winter) …. a wooden needle box …and a wooden thingy maybe for darning socks.. (never have used it….)

on the bottom right is a bone or ivory line marker….. from Japan  and  scissors that my children are forbidden to touch unless it is for sewing purposes…..  They are both  J.A. Henckels and i can’t leave them out or  my husband will use them to open his mail .

All  of these are displayed on my sand paper board…. i lay out material  on this to trace my quilt block patterns… i can use it on my lap while i sit on the couch or on the table…

what are your favorite quilting tools?????????

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marianne
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 11:21:11

    What a wonderful stash! The mushroom thingy is indeed for darning socks;my dear mother has one so your photo brought back many happy darning memories:)

    Reply

  2. jude
    Mar 01, 2010 @ 16:25:24

    those wooden templates are so precious.

    Reply

  3. Ravenhill
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:47:59

    your wooden squares and triangles are certainly a wonderful keepsake, to use and cherish. I should invest in one of those wooden mushrooms sometime, both cute and handy.

    Reply

  4. Karen
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 12:12:15

    Brilliant, and I love the next one too, about ow you started quilting. I didn’t know that. I think the Indian bedspread backing is inspired.

    Reply

  5. whereishenow
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 23:01:16

    thanks for looking everyone and for appreciating my treasures..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

