Quilters’ Totems……

..with thanks to QUILTER’S HOME MAGAZINE..april/may 2010…..

The magazine article lists 10 totems pulled from various cultures ….(ant, bear, butterfly, falcon,otter, owl, rabbit, rat, shark, wolf)  people who know me well, in fact , anyone who knows what i have been fascinated with since i was a kid will recognize me immediately… without question…if you think “wolf” you are sadly mistaken…. i usually embroider a howling wolf on my  larger quilts and on many of my projects, AND,  my sister made me some beautiful howling wolf calling cards… but NO… i am not a wolf quilter….

pin from a Bellingham antique store, calling card made by my sister!!

 

great big tin can full of popcorn!!! (with a WOLF!!!!!)

I am…….

A SHARK  

What’s good: You are peaceful when alone (and not hungry). Sensitive  to pressure you still are a great adaptor. 

What’s not:  You are dangerous when in a group and starved for me-time.  If you’re not always in motion, you sink.

The Shark Quilter: You always have a project going, and you find time to sew every day. You even have a custom made sewing kit you take on (business) trips. (Can’t waste that hotel-room time!) Shows and classes aren’t your thing, but your bookshelf  is overflowing. You might join a guild, but only for the member discounts at the LQS. If you haven’t been able to fondle fabric for a few days, your family books into the local Motel 6 until you’ve pieced another top.

Motto:   I THINK I’LL STAY HOME AND SEW.

(1o Quilter’s Totems and What they mean….. Page 18-21, Quilter’s Home Magazine april/may 2010)

from now on, I'll embroider sharks on all my quilts...

 
 
 

shark teeth, wooden shark carving, pure gold pendant with shark

wooden shark, teeth and gold pendant carved by student...

 (not sure which photo i like best, neither quite captures the mood i am seeking)

I heard that it is “shark week” on the discovery channel in the states….. we get the discovery channel here, but it’s not shark week… oh well… i have a shelf full of (shark and quilting) books to look at… and some sewing to do…..

my travel sewing case... it's not custom, but it is stocked for everything!

several years ago, a friend in the states sent me this OMNIGRID quilt carry all thingy… at the time, I didn’t know that i wanted one, but i have grown to love it and it carries all kinds of stuff….. thank you FELIZ!!! It fits my SHARK image….

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. WAcousin
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 20:12:38

    With all due respect to the author of the Quilter’s Home article, I agree that the words describe you, but the end result of a Shark is Just. Not. You.

    Loan shark; sharks on Wall Street, in advertising, in politics; Jaws; people screaming at the beach when a shark is in the water; sharp teeth – I can’t come up with many positive thoughts about sharks. Even my dictionary says “a greedy crafty person.”

    And, as long as I am being contrary, Dear Cousin, maybe the reason you could not come up with a photo that conveyed the mood you were feeling is because your totem is Wolf, not Shark. Just my oh so not humble opinion!!

    Reply

  2. WAcousin
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 20:13:40

    Also, glad to see you are posting more often. Please keep showing your projects.

    Reply

    • whereishenow
      Aug 03, 2010 @ 21:56:44

      dear cousin.
      so happy to hear from you!!! last year at this time we were in WA and we are sorely missing it this year (even though i opted not to go, i could have…)

      regarding sharks and the article, the shark description fit me to a T and i couldn’t agree with it more…. AND i have been fascinated by them since i was a young child… and i still have with me all the ocean books i bought when i was a kid…. so, i am thrilled to be a shark quilter, even though sharks have somewhat of a “crafty/sneaky” image….

      I will continue to honor the wolf and howl at every full moon and guard my young ones with my life…..

      love Jan….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

