let’s hear it for the boy!!

my fine young son is going to a birthday party on wednesday and decided to pick out some “magic rocks” from the jar to give to the birthday boy.  I said i didn’t have time to knit a little mojo bag  but that i could sew up a little bag, if he wanted me to…… and my fine young son, who has impressed me with his needle work in the past asked “can I make one”???   so, I said yes…thinking that he would need LOTS of help…. , he  picked out some  cloth (his friend likes purple)  i cut it and penciled in some sewing lines…and he threaded his needle (blue thread) and started sewing… with only MINIMAL assistance from me…he did it.  all by himself (well,mostly.)  and i am thrilled.

the nut doesn’t fall far from the tree, ya know!!!

the birthday present.

I see great things in his future.

and in the mean time… he has unlimited access to all my supplies.

my good scissors, too. 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie Crow
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 20:04:50

    That is awesome. Both the idea and the execution! Congrats to him! I’m hoping my boy will also be interested once he gets a bit older (and is old enough that I can sew around him at all…).

    Reply

  2. debbie
    Feb 22, 2011 @ 23:11:25

    these are the wonderful moments that we keep in our hearts and our memories to bring out, every now and then, to remember.
    that young son of yours is something special…and how great is it that you can pass your incredible talent on to him.

    Reply

  3. WAcousin
    Feb 23, 2011 @ 02:22:12

    I’m assuming this is youngest son you are talking about. Please let him know how much I love his mojo bag and how proud I am of him. Knowing what a fast runner he is, maybe you should hide those scissors for now……

    Reply

    • whereishenow
      Feb 23, 2011 @ 03:25:29

      yes, the youngest is the most interested in stitchin’.

      and all three kids have a deep respect for “mom’s sewing scissors” and i have never had to worry about them. You should have heard them all go off on their dad when he tried to pry open a can of candy with my little scissors…..

      Reply

      • WAcousin
        Feb 23, 2011 @ 16:48:08

        Are we talking about the same scissors like the ones you gave me? I love those and use them every sewing session! Opening a can with them????

Leave a Reply

