where’s my roots??

my father likes to send me these….

Ole goes into a store and asks the clerk for some “Lutefisk.”
The clerk looked at him and asked, “Are you Norwe gian?”
Ole, clearly offended and angry, says, “Well, yes I am. But, let me ask you something.
If I asked you for Italian Sausage, would you ask me if I was Italian?
Or, if I asked you for German Bratwurst, would you ask me if I was German?
Or, if I asked for a Kosher Hot Dog, would you ask me if I was Jewish?
Or, if I asked you for a Taco, would you ask me if I was Mexican?
Would ya,huh? Would ya?”
The clerk says, “Well, no….”
“And,” Ole continues, “if I asked you for some Irish W hiskey, would you ask me if I was Irish?
 What about Canadian Bacon. Would you ask me if I was Canadian?”
“Well, I probably wouldn’t,” agrees the clerk.
With self-indignation and more angry, Ole says, “Well, all right then.
Why did you ask me if I’m Norwegian just because I asked for Lutefisk?”
The clerk replies, “Because you’re at Home Depot.”
*****
I come from a long line of ancestors.
half of them are Norwegian.
I am proud of my Viking roots.
I was so excited when one day,
I found Emily of Ravenhill.
I was thrilled to talk with her and read her posts about crafting in Norway.
we even sent each other some stuff. 
I got some really amazing Norwegian treasures and she got some Japanese things.
Amazingly, Emily was able to zoom in on EXACTLY what I was craving,
PRECISELY what I was needing, to wrap myself in my ancestor’s spirits…..

self portrait
self portrait

 

 

 

snow-096
How did she know that I have wanted a blue and white handknit cardigan with silver buttons since the day I was born???? (special thanks go also to Emily’s friend…Anne Katrine.. for sharing this sweater with Emily, and  to Anne Katrine’s Aunt for knitting it….) Check out Emily’s blog for more photos. Thank you Emily!!!!!

tea towels and apron

tea towels and apron

 

Emily also knows that I love tea towels (and I use them too!!!) so she included several vintage lovelies and a special new one….. and also a fabulous apron.  My fine young son was just about as thrilled as I am and will use the apron when he helps me in the kitchen….and he especially liked the Pure Irish Linen “Mayflower Anniversary” towel…

 

 

 

 

Mayflower Anniversary

Mayflower Anniversary

 It’s all great!!!  Thank you Emily!!!

Tusen takk!!!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grandpa H
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 20:36:25

    grandma H says what a nice sweater, I am jealous over that one but you need it more than I do. If I receive a new sweater I have to take one of mine back or what ever. That is one of my house rules. I also like the t-towels and the apron, good things from a good friend. So cute for number 2 son to model them for us, love to all, mother

    Reply

  2. whereishenow
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 21:44:09

    dear mom… the day the sweater arrived, i put it on immediately and said out loud….”now I can get rid of at least 5 sweaters, because this is the only one I am going to wear from now on!!!”

    I will bring them all to you!!!

    Reply

  3. midorijoanne
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 12:55:47

    What a great sweater! That Norwegian joke make me laugh. My best friend Caroline is getting married to a Norwegian guy next year and lives in Oslo now so I sent it onto her as well! 😉

    Reply

  4. whereishenow
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 21:48:30

    midorijoanne… I have a whole book of OLE AND LENA jokes… and there are more books out there…. seek and ye shall find…

    thanks for dropping by!!!!

    Reply

  5. Ravenhill
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 11:22:29

    Reading your fun and sweet post and the other comments has made me so happy! Giving is certainly a great joy when the recipients show you such boundless appreciation! I love seeing your son decking himself in the towels and apron! 🙂 It seems you all open your packages with as much delight and rapture as we do here! Thank you so much for making this wonderful post! I am so happy the sweater looks like it is perfect!
    Hugs from Emily

    Reply

  6. Jolene
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 00:28:01

    That sweater looks just like you!

    Reply

  7. Anne Kathrine
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 06:53:53

    WOW, So nice to see that the sweater is in use now. My aunt would like to know that it has travelled so far. Have a nice day!

    Reply

  8. K8
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 08:52:50

    Looks great. Good to see you and son closest in age to oldest VA cousin. Sweater looks wonderful and it is fun to see how much its images have criss crossed the world just in comments. As we drove around our new town I kept seeing knitting shops and thinking of you!!! My favorite to date is a place called “Have Ewe Any Wool?” I kept telling the girls that we would have to take Auntie Jan if she were to visit.

    Quick update here…Your favorite (formerly frequent world traveler) brother started his new job in Buffalo, NY yesterday and will pick up the keys to our new house in a matter of hours. The girls and I in VA and are up to our earlobes in boxes and paint cans in hopes of being north bound in 10(+ ?) days. The new house has room for visitors and reminds me of Grandma and Grandpas in a couple ways. The laundry shoot, however, isn’t big enough for mischief and mayhem. I guess that is probably a good thing knowing the youngest of the clan. We are 22min from Niagara Falls. Your brother has traded the planes for a 3.5m commute. We are really excited about the move. Love to all. K8 and girls

    Reply

  9. Karen
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 11:46:25

    Tea towels…so it’s not just a British thing….great sweater.

    Reply

Leave a comment